USB DAC/Headphone Amp Combo or Separates?

aashish351

Hi Folks!

It's been a long time! Hope my favorite hi-fi forum is thriving as always.

Since my current circumstances don't allow me to keep an in-room hi-fi setup, I had to setup a personal audio system. Being in UK allowed me to get my hands on some amazing deals on Audiolab Q-DAC (300) and Grado SR80i (100). I must admit, every praise I have heard about Grado is 100% true! And, every praise I have heard about open headphones in general is also 100% true.

Anyway, my question is directed to the personal audio audiophiles among us (I know a thing or two about home audio, but in this space I am a newbie). Please relay your experiences on differences between USB DAC/Headphone Amp Combos versus headphone separates (DAC + Head Amp) in pure audio improvement terms. Put another way, should I expect improvements in adding a headphone amplifier to this setup. Of course I am not talking about portable toys, but comparable desktop amps - Little Dot MK4, Musical Fidelity V90 HPA, Project Head Box DS, Graham Slee Novo etc.

To clarify - I only listen to lossless 16/44, 24/96 and 24/192 FLAC / ALAC through Bitperfect on Mac or Foobar-ASIO on PC.

Some companies like schiit and upyo some time back hrt believe that amp and dac should be separate. I feel it can be designed to keep them in box and still isolate them from each other. Personally I would like a single box solution to cut out on desk space and wire clutter. One pair rca and one power cord is too much if you keep it on pffice desk or even at home.
But the fact is that I have separates. Two headphone amps which are both assembled by gurubhai and he has not attempted a dac yet.