• Hello and Welcome to HiFiVision.com - an online community for the home entertainment and tech enthusiasts!

    If you would like to ask a question, participate in a discussion and view attachments please Register yourself.

Volume pot. for Musical Fidelity A3cr preamp.......Help!

Easy EMI Options at HiFiMART.com

Mark1963

New Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2013
Messages
5
Points
0
Location
thailand
Help..... i live in the middle of nowhere, have an MF A3cr preamp, with a broken volume pot.......to make matter worse, whilst i was away a friend thinking he was being helpful, had the unit repaired.....
The pot that has been put in is very cheap, i do not have the original that was removed. Does anyone have any idea of what the original would be? I was thinking ALPS......., but i have no idea about values, names or much else.
 
SPONSORED ADS

SPONSORED ADS

Mark1963

New Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2013
Messages
5
Points
0
Location
thailand
Wish i could email, alas MF. don't appear to have an email address, and phone network here a little flawed
 

KiranPS

Active Member
Joined
May 13, 2012
Messages
135
Points
43
Location
Chennai
Do you have Soldering Skills ? If so you can get a replacement ALPS pot from ebay and solder it Your self or you can get a local radio repair shop to fix it.
I had do this for my MF A5Cr Pre.
 

Mark1963

New Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2013
Messages
5
Points
0
Location
thailand
Have some soldering skills, just not sure of values for the pot.
Am thinking ALPS Blue Beauty 50k........... but really not sure.
Do you recall what you used in your MF?
 

Mark1963

New Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2013
Messages
5
Points
0
Location
thailand
Thanks for that info........exactly what i needed to know,....hopefully my soldering is up to the job.....lol
 

Mark1963

New Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2013
Messages
5
Points
0
Location
thailand
Thanks for all the help guys; now just to show my complete ignorance......... if i am replacing a motorised pot., previously controlled by a remote, would i still be able to use the remote?
 

KiranPS

Active Member
Joined
May 13, 2012
Messages
135
Points
43
Location
Chennai
You will have to get a Motorized POT. There will be one set of wires for the Variable resistor of the POT and one other set for the Motor. If you hook up the wires properly then the POT should work with the remote. I recommend taking a picture of all the wires and where they are connected before you start de-soldering them. If space provides then have both pots side by side, de-solder one wire at a time and then solder that wire to the exact same spot on the new POT before moving on to the next wire.
 
SPONSORED ADS

ninetynine

New Member
Joined
Apr 27, 2014
Messages
1
Points
0
Location
Montreal
Im looking for the same pot cannot find it anywhere did you have any luck finding one? Did you get a chance to speak with Musical Fidelity? Do they still make them?
 

Soundstage

Active Member
Joined
May 5, 2011
Messages
200
Points
43
Location
Pune
Wish i could email, alas MF. don't appear to have an email address, and phone network here a little flawed
In case you need to speak to MF personally, you may call MF UK on +44 2089002866. Ask for a gentleman by the name of Simon....he is very helpful.

Hope this helps.
 
SPONSORED ADS

Top