• Hello and Welcome to HiFiVision.com - an online community for the home entertainment and tech enthusiasts!

    If you would like to ask a question, participate in a discussion and view attachments please Register yourself.

Dream Box

HiFiMART.com

gopscreative

Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2009
Messages
144
Points
18
Location
Bnagalore
Hi, Is anyone in dis forum using Dreambox STB? I heard its available in India for 5.5k.Pls confirm if anyone using it and do share de exp with it..Thanks
 

Dushie

New Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2007
Messages
1,676
Points
0
Location
Bangalore
Hi, Is anyone in dis forum using Dreambox STB? I heard its available in India for 5.5k.Pls confirm if anyone using it and do share de exp with it..Thanks

Yes, i am using the same from last 2 years, it works well. For 5.5 k you will be getting the clone dm500s. The original one is no longer being manufactured.
The clone one works great and you will not face any issues.
 

gopscreative

Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2009
Messages
144
Points
18
Location
Bnagalore
Yes, i am using the same from last 2 years, it works well. For 5.5 k you will be getting the clone dm500s. The original one is no longer being manufactured.
The clone one works great and you will not face any issues.

Thanks for ur reply.How abt de picture quality?R u using component or DVI interface?
 

audiodelic

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2008
Messages
1,003
Points
63
Location
Hyd/Del
interesting so presently i have tata sky if i use this i will get all the channels i get presently and i dont need to recharge.
 

srinisundar

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 29, 2009
Messages
3,379
Points
113
Location
chennai
Interesting product never come across,, could you please explain in detail about your experience... Whether it will work with all DTH or only cable telecast.. Whether you could view all the pay channel free of cost:lol:

Regards
 

gopscreative

Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2009
Messages
144
Points
18
Location
Bnagalore
interesting so presently i have tata sky if i use this i will get all the channels i get presently and i dont need to recharge.

Just google it. U wil get many links which wil explain abt dreambox and regarding the encrypted channels i am not sure abt DTH but it decodes from CATV and my cousin who stays in US says it decodes many encrypted channels also.:licklips:
 

nitinbose

New Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2008
Messages
188
Points
0
Hi,

All STBs that are currently available can decode encrypted channels. This is a common feature. However, a decoder that is able to decode encrypted channels would not enable the user to watch the channel(s), unless the valid smartcard is inserted, which authorizes the user/STB.

The exception with dreambox is that you can obtain 3rd party firmwares using which the box can enable you watch pay channels.
However, dreambox does not support/endorse such firmwares/softwares, and voids official warranty.

Dreambox - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

regards,

Nitin.
 

captrajesh

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 18, 2009
Messages
5,415
Points
113
Location
Hyderabad
Hi,

All STBs that are currently available can decode encrypted channels. This is a common feature. However, a decoder that is able to decode encrypted channels would not enable the user to watch the channel(s), unless the valid smartcard is inserted, which authorizes the user/STB.

The exception with dreambox is that you can obtain 3rd party firmwares using which the box can enable you watch pay channels.
However, dreambox does not support/endorse such firmwares/softwares, and voids official warranty.

I don't think we should worry about warranty if it helps in preventing these content providers from fleecing us. END JUSTIFIES THE MEANS.
 

captrajesh

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 18, 2009
Messages
5,415
Points
113
Location
Hyderabad
Hi,

All STBs that are currently available can decode encrypted channels. This is a common feature. However, a decoder that is able to decode encrypted channels would not enable the user to watch the channel(s), unless the valid smartcard is inserted, which authorizes the user/STB.

The exception with dreambox is that you can obtain 3rd party firmwares using which the box can enable you watch pay channels.
However, dreambox does not support/endorse such firmwares/softwares, and voids official warranty.

I don't think we should worry about warranty if it helps in preventing these content providers from fleecing us. END JUSTIFIES THE MEANS.:D

Just tell us how to do it.
 

Dushie

New Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2007
Messages
1,676
Points
0
Location
Bangalore
Please don't buy dreambox just like that, it will not help in any way, you need to have your own setup of dishes and it works through cardsharing, you will not be able to use the same with your tata sky or dish tv box, there are lot of other things to know before you end up buying the box.
 

Avijeet

New Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2009
Messages
171
Points
0
Location
Bhubaneswar
I guess there is a cult group... who are not sharing things openly regarding Dreambox....
i just wanna know where can i buy this????
i have also heard Dreambox HD has also arrived
 

captrajesh

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 18, 2009
Messages
5,415
Points
113
Location
Hyderabad
Dushie / Nitinbose and other experts

No one answered this question. Could you guys share your knowledge please. No don't ask us to google it. Consider us to be noobs.:eek:

interesting so presently i have tata sky if i use this i will get all the channels i get presently and i dont need to recharge.
 

audiodelic

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2008
Messages
1,003
Points
63
Location
Hyd/Del
Is there nobody whose used the dreambox if we can actually do what i have asked in my post ..... that would be just too good a deal.
 

KDM

Active Member
Joined
May 12, 2009
Messages
428
Points
28
Location
India
I don't know, but it would seem to me, from what some of the experts have posted over here, that the Dreambox may not be quite ligit - therefore no one's willing to talk openly about it.
 
Top