Home theater system for music and movies!

kingfisher

Dear all,

I am planning to build a home theater system which is also good for music( not the best :) ). for my 42" ST30. Since I cant afford a separate systems for music and movies also don't want to duplicate speakers/sources/amplifiers. So what I am planning is to first buy a AV receiver and a pair of book shelf speakers. Then later I want to add other components (sub woofer, rear/center speakers) one by one.

I believe that such a system will be good for movies as well as music, though it may not be as good as stereo amp for music.

My budget for AVR and book shelf speakers is 50 to 60K. I have chosen book shelf speaker instead of floor standing because I am going to add sub woofer which will take care of LFE and book shelves will handle the mid range.

Right now my choices for speakers are:
1. Wharfedale Diamond 10.1
2. Monitor Audio Bronze BX2

I have very little knowledge abt AVR so not yet decided. Heard Denon and Yamaha AVR are good for music.If the AVR has pre amp output, later also I can add separate stereo amp. Also I dont want features like Airplay because I dont have any apple products.

Pls help me to choose my speakers and AVR

you have decided quite intelligently in fact..nothing to say..go ahed..perfect planning
also keeep wharfe 121 in the list
just one note..
someone in the forum said a nad t487 is avilable at 40k..i dont know the eaxct price..
check it.
if it is the price grab it blindly..over denon,yamaha or anything

Right now my choices for speakers are:
1. Wharfedale Diamond 10.1
2. Monitor Audio Bronze BX2
Of the two, I would pick the BX2. Bigger woofer, will move more air for greater impact. Also, BX2 has more than twice the sensitivity of the 10.1 (a 100w amp on the 10.1 will be like using a 200w amp on the BX2), so it will be more dynamic.