How Many Watts Per Channel Do I Need ?

Amarendra

This is a common question which I have always faced during my audio/ movie journey over the past 10 + years with opinions usually swinging from a low of 3-4 watts to a high of 200+ watts. Finally while reviewing some articles on the web and some videos on youtube I came across some answers which seem logical.

Based on these I arrived at the following conclusion for my Wharfedale Diamond 220 speakers which carry a sensitivity of 86 db.

Disclaimer: I am a finance professional, hence it is likely that I misunderstood some point on ohms/ decibels/watts :)

Basic assumption: With1 watt the speaker produces 86 db sound at a distance of 1 meter. To increase sound by every 3 db I need to double the wattage.

Actual SPL: While watching a recent movie I was recording the sound level using a SPL app on my phone. At a comfortable listening level in my Atmos HT, the peak was recorded at 97 db and the average SPL for about half an hour of viewing was recorded at about 85 db. So assuming worst case that I need 100 db of sound level all throughout (really loud), I will need about the following watts:

86db: 1 watt so
89 db: 2 watts
92 db: 4 watts
95 db: 8 watts
98 db: 16 watts
101 db: 32 watts
104 db: 64 watts
107 db: 128 watts

THX recommends 105 db for reference level movie watching but at that level it will get very uncomfortable. Hence to power ~ 98 db (peak) I will just need 16 watts per channel.

Now the catch is the 1 meter condition- that is I will need 16 watts to produce 98 db if I am seated at a distance of just 1 meter. Hence assuming that I am seated at 10 feet ( ~ 3 meters) I need to jump 2 levels and add another 6 db to the above calculation. Hence to listen at 98db (throughout) I will need about 64 watts per channel when seated at 3 meters from the speaker.

If the above is true then the following comes to light: