• Hello and Welcome to HiFiVision.com - an online community for the home entertainment and tech enthusiasts!

    If you would like to ask a question, participate in a discussion and view attachments please Register yourself.

My avr is 120v, but my transformer is 110v. Kindly suggest a solution ...

Audiolab 6000CDT Dedicated CD Transport

chaitanyaht3

Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2017
Messages
144
Points
18
Location
Hyderabad
Hello All, i bought Yamaha Rxv 681 from Us. That is 120V. But unfortunately I bought a 110V maxine stepdown transformer.

Will this combo work at all? Is it dangerous to use 120v avr with 110v transformer??

Should I return my 110V transformer and buy a 120V one?

I searched online and found many 110V transformers. But couldn't find 120v transformers. Please suggest and ideas...

Thanks & Regards
Chaitanya
 

chaitanyaht3

Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2017
Messages
144
Points
18
Location
Hyderabad
Just to add to the above points, my avr is rated 400W. I searched for 1.5Kva transformer to be future proof. But i found only one model available, but it is only 750W. Is it sufficient for my 400w reciever ??
 

shankarcams

Active Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2010
Messages
341
Points
43
Location
Chennai
Most 230V devices will work between 220V and 240V, and similarly 120V devices will work at 110V. A 750W capacity is adequate for a peak load of 400W. The RMS load in reality will probably be 100W or 150W. Trust this helps
 

chaitanyaht3

Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2017
Messages
144
Points
18
Location
Hyderabad
thank you Shankar,

Its a relief to know that it works with 110V transformer.
The below model is the one that I already bought. Its in my house now.

https://www.flipkart.com/maxine-1-5...opper/p/itmexm5baw9h7bnd?pid=VSTEXM5BQ4EGXHBH

It is 1.5Kva and 110V. If my avr works with the above model, I will be more than happy !!!
If not, I have to return this and get the below 120V model.

https://www.flipkart.com/maxine-220...qxu0jk0000001512988270861&qH=af462aab12402b85

But I really dout if this really gives 120V. It could be just a marketing stunt too.
Any way, since I already bought 110v transformer, and as you said if my avr works, thats all I need ...
Thanks again !!!
 

chaitanyaht3

Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2017
Messages
144
Points
18
Location
Hyderabad
Just to update you guys....

I spoke to MAXIM company. They said the 120V avr will work without any problem with a 110V transformer.
(im not sure if there will be any effect on audio quality)
The ratio of step down is 2:1
If the input is 240v, the output will be 120V
If the input is 220V, the output will be 110v.

Regards,
Chaitanya
 

reachkalyan.kr

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2017
Messages
846
Points
63
Location
IN
Just to update you guys....

I spoke to MAXIM company. They said the 120V avr will work without any problem with a 110V transformer.
(im not sure if there will be any effect on audio quality)
The ratio of step down is 2:1
If the input is 240v, the output will be 120V
If the input is 220V, the output will be 110v.

Regards,
Chaitanya
i am telling you the same thing only from starting

https://www.hifivision.com/threads/...lp-me-with-an-advise-please.68687/post-756159
 

reachkalyan.kr

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2017
Messages
846
Points
63
Location
IN
Just to update you guys....

I spoke to MAXIM company. They said the 120V avr will work without any problem with a 110V transformer.
(im not sure if there will be any effect on audio quality)
The ratio of step down is 2:1
If the input is 240v, the output will be 120V
If the input is 220V, the output will be 110v.

Regards,
Chaitanya

All the best at least now you have convinced:)
 

chaitanyaht3

Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2017
Messages
144
Points
18
Location
Hyderabad
Hey kalyan... even before talking to them im almost convinced that this is not a serious issue. Just out of curiosity i was checking all options.... thanks a lot for all your inputs Kalyan...
 

codwapeace

Active Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2014
Messages
144
Points
28
Location
Agra
Hello All, i bought Yamaha Rxv 681 from Us. That is 120V. But unfortunately I bought a 110V maxine stepdown transformer.

Will this combo work at all? Is it dangerous to use 120v avr with 110v transformer??

Should I return my 110V transformer and buy a 120V one?

I searched online and found many 110V transformers. But couldn't find 120v transformers. Please suggest and ideas...

Thanks & Regards
Chaitanya
It will work fine. I am using the same.
 
Top