My experience with Tecnics Sl-Q3

santnai

I recently got preowned TT in very good condition with new cartridge AT-91. I badly want to test it with my setup hence I got the new vinyl of Silsilla. The reason I choose this vinyl because I have the CD and can compare CD vs vinyl.

For comparison my source were
Technics->Marantz PM7004->MA RX-6
Oppo BD83->MF m1 dac->Marantz PM7004->MA RX-6

I played the track "Dekha ek khwab" on cd & lp and I kept on swapping from vinyl to cd and to me cd was sounding with more dynamics.
I am new to vinyl world and I had a great expectation.

Last edited:
Hi santnai,

AT-91 is not the cartridge to test compare Vinyl vs CD. Try with Shure M97xE and compare.

Just my Rs.2/-.

N.Murali

Hi Murali,
I wanted to have the feel of vinyl world so I went with AT-91 an entry level cartridge. I have the upgradation plan but will it make lots of difference? I was expecting vinyl to sound better than CD with entry level cartridge.

Regards,
Santosh

Santosh, there are 2 things wrong here: 1. The new vinyls of silsila are bad digital remasters. Try getting the old copy.
2. The AT 91 is a really crappy cart. Get at least a Shure cart. Or a Ortofon. Then do a comparison.

My Rs 800 went in a drain. I was under the impression that digital remasterred version will be better. Surely I will upgrade to Shure or Ortofon & will compare.

BTW how is TT?

Regards,
Santosh

Last edited:
Re: My experience with Technics Sl-Q3

Hi Malvai,
I know u are a vinyl guru. Can u Pl suggest some model # for the Cart which can gel well with my TT and give me a result which I am expcting and also how much it will cost?

Hi Malvai,
I know u are a vinyl guru. Can u Pl suggest some model # for the Cart which can gel well with my TT and give me a result which I am expcting and also how much it will cost?

Shure M97xe,At-440MLA,Denon Dl-110 or Ortofon Om-10/20/30 would suit your arm.An outboard phonostage will also improve the sound.

Regards,
Sachin