Need advice: What to look for before buying a blu-ray movie?

surendar

I am new to HD world and need some help in identifying the perfect blu-ray disc to buy based on technical specifications. As nowadays studios are following the tactics of releasing multiple editions of the same title I am bit worried about buying the initial/first time blu-ray releases of movies. Are the current releases having scope of improvements in terms of audio/video specifications (bit rate, sound format etc.)?

Check the Region.Either its region free OR compatible with reg of your BDp.
secondly manufaturer(US/UK or Indian)
Sound tracks.

Like to know specifically on audio/video formats to look for. For example few terms I am able to see like:

1) BD-50, BD-25, dual layer etc. will that make any difference in quality?
2) Bit rate?
3) MPEG2, MPEG4, VC?
3) DTS HD, DD HD, HD lossless transfer?

look for -full 1080P video
- HD Audio (Dts HD MA / dolby true HD) but on a bluray even DD and DTS sound great
- size of the disc 25GB/50GB ,most hollywood releases are 50GB ,full utilization of disc space for movie better the results (eg Avataar)
- Bit rate ,most are @ 48 (this wudnt be mentioned on cover)
-imporatant to look for compatible reg coding

HD Audio (Dts HD MA / dolby true HD) but on a bluray even DD and DTS sound great

Not to sound rude, but DD and DTS would sound great on a DVD as well, its nothing to do with disc as such AFA, DD and DTS track goes......:)

Audio : PCM Multi channel / HD DTS/ HD Dolby or DTS/DD. Bit rate of DTS/DD in Blu rays is higher than DVD DTS/DD
Video : Disc 25 GB-> MPEG2 ; Disc 50 GB -> MPEG4/VC-1.
Lastly Extras.Normally US Blurays will come in 2 or more Discs with Digital Copy, DVD Copy and lot of extra features.
To Compare the releases, which has better transfer, you can check in the below link which was provided by our member sud98 in another Thread
Rewind @ www.dvdcompare.net - The Home of DVD Comparisons - Part of The Rewind Network