Passive bookshelf speakers for nearfield listening

jarneevan

I plan to setup a simple stereo for nearfield listening.

Speakers would be placed on work desk, roughly about 5 feet apart and 4 feet away from me. Source would be Tidal/Qobuz/Spotify on the PC to HDMI on the TV to Optical on the Stereo Receiver.

I have shortlisted Marantz PM6007 as I can get it pretty cheap at 30k in grey. I am looking for a moderately priced bookshelf pair that is good for nearfield listening and would pair well with Marantz. The max budget for speakers would be around 40k. My preference is to have a laid back setup.

Please advise. Thanks.

A question here - have you considered the actives for a near field system?

To answer your question check out IndiqAudio, Q Acoustics, Missions, Wharfedales - barring IndiqAudio (as I have no experience with those, but FMs here love them) most others should fit your required sound signature pretty well. Demo if possible (Bangalore has many options), choose what fits your budget and preferences the best. Difficult to suggest that one speaker that you will love :).

A question here - have you considered the actives for a near field system?

To answer your question check out IndiqAudio, Q Acoustics, Missions, Wharfedales - barring IndiqAudio (as I have no experience with those, but FMs here love them) most others should fit your required sound signature pretty well. Demo if possible (Bangalore has many options), choose what fits your budget and preferences the best. Difficult to suggest that one speaker that you will love :).
I thought am amp and passive speaker would give me more flexibility. Demo is pretty much ruled out.

I could up the budget by another 20k if there are some compelling options. As it is for nearfield I don't prefer anything that is treble or bass heavy.

Wharfedale Evo4.1 and Elac DBR62 seem interesting. Would they pair well with pm6007.

Also read that Dali Oberons pair well with Marantz but worried about treble aspect.