Planning to build HT component by component

sonics

Hi Friends,

This is my first post and I am an absolute newbie to world of audio visual system.

In past I have bought HTIB systems and not really likes them, yet I repeated the mistake given the low cost involved and less effort to build anything.

Now I am going on my journey to build my own home theatre setup component by component. My budget is still no too high, however I am planning on getting an entry level yet sufficiently powerful (is such thing exists) AV Receiver and two front floor standing speakers.

Here is what I have picked so far (given value for money the driving factor):
1. AV Receiver: Pioneer VSX-531 5.1 (getting for 30K)

2. Floor standing speakers: Given I get above AV Receiver (or similar in price range), which of the following speakers should I go for:

a. Polk Audio TSx330 Tower Speaker Pair, 150w, 2Way, Senstivity 90db (around 32K)

b. Wharfedale Crystal 30.4 Tower Speaker (Pair) 300w RMS Peak Power Output (around 25K)

c. MISSION VX-3 Tower Speaker (Pair) 80w RMS @ 6 Ohms (around 30K)

Major questions in my mind:
1. Would Pioneer 531, able to power these speaker nicely
2. Would it still continue to power other 5.1 Ch speaker as and when I add them
3. Which FS speaker should I pick?

I am mainly interested in watching movies and occasion music (70-30), my room size is around 15x10ft.

p.s. apologies in advance in case I am not able to use technical specs and my requirement clear, I have just started.. will learn.

Cheers
Ashish

Hi Ashish,

Since you are base in Mumbai, go and audition these systems so you get a better understanding of what is available with what features and costing.....

Start shortlisting what appeals to you in connectivity requirements, appearance and performance.

If budget is a constraint, see the For Sale by Owner section or Hi Fi Ads....some nice stuff being sold at reasonable rates......