Rotel RA04SE and Jamo Concert

unready

Hi guys, first time posting after hours of lurking.

I'm new to the hifi world and am looking to buy my first system. I have my eyes on Rotel 04se or ra11 paired with Jamo 603 bookshelves which i later plan to upgrade with 607. For now, I plan to hook the sytem to my computer and will later add a cd player. I mostly listen to jazz, funk, hip hop, blues and folk music. Do you think these components are a good match? They are available locally (but not at the same vendor so audition is not possible) plus I really like the minimalist aesthetics of rotel and the overall nice looks of Jamos.

Any input is much appreciated!

hifi newb

going by specs alone - i doubt the rotels you mentioned would be suitable for the c607 - upgrade.

why dont you look at buying speakers and amp from the same dealer so that way you can get a better deal too and audition as well.

we dont know your room size but have you considered powered speakers ? Audioengine or Swans perhaps ?

If your budget ( i assume ) is about euro 1000 - you could yourself some nice powered speakers.

good luck !

Thanks for your reply mpw!

My room size is about 20 square meters. I was looking at the audioengine A5+ at the very start and almost bought them, but then I kinda decided I want some room for upgrade and to go with the traditional amp+speakers system. Regarding the Rotels, I read in many reviews that they pack considerably more power than specified and should be capable of driving these Jamos. But then again, I am very inexperienced in this area, but at the same time very excited to enter the hifi world - time to do more research!

Yes, as you guessed my budget for this initial purchase is around 800-1000 euro.

do keep in mind that ultimately you should get what you pay for and i am unsure that 40W is enough to drive floorstanders...after all the power supply is one of the most critical thing in an amplifier design.