Speakers choice question.. Canton GLE or Monitor Audio BR 5 or Jamo 607?

b.next

Hi, i'm new to the hi-fi world, and after reading alot online, i finally decided to ask for advice here ;)

I'd like to buy a simple hi-fi system, mainly for music and movies (middle sized room). This hi-fi set would be composed of:
- 2 floostandin spekers
- stereo amplifier or A/V amplifier

According to my budget, I'm considering the following speakers:
- Canton GLE 490 (3 way, 150W, 90db, 20-30k Hz)
- Monitor Audio Bronze Reference 5 (3 way, 130W, 90db, 36-30k Hz)
- Jamo C 607 (3 way, 150W, 89db, 32-20k Hz) - a bit more expensive
- Mordaunt-Short Aviano 6 ( 2 way, 150W, 88db, 38-22k Hz)

About the amplifier...
- Harman Kardon 3490 (2x 120w @8ohms lots of imput/output...)
- Marantz 6003 (2x45 w, not so powerful?)
- Denon AVR 1910 (7x 90w very nice one)
- Pioneer VSX 919 (7x 140w)

Among these possible choices, what's the best pairing? I don't need the very best quality on the market, but some nice hi-fi to enjoy music form CDs, DVDs, and pc. Feel free to suggest other speakers/amp setup, my budget is about 1000-1100 euros..

Thanks for your replies ;)

Last edited:
Hi:

Welcome to HFV. Saw your queries in the other forum too.

For speakers, I would lean mostly on the BR5 and the Aviano paired with the PM6003.

:)

I read every kind of positive review about the Avianos and the MA Bronze 5, but I still can't find some serious opinion about the Canton GLE. I have faith in the brand and they seem to have a great price/performance ratio. That's why I'm still dubious and can't decide...

Speaking of the amp, is the marantz that good? I know they make some of the best amps on the market, but this seems quite a entry level amplifier and lacks some input ports i'd like to have (digital optical, HDMI). That's why I included the Harman Kardon hi-fi amp, which "looks" (regarding the specs) much more high-end.