• Hello and Welcome to HiFiVision.com - an online community for the home entertainment and tech enthusiasts!

    If you would like to ask a question, participate in a discussion and view attachments please Register yourself.

Step down power adapter

Marantz offers at HiFiMART.com

parambir

Active Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2016
Messages
237
Points
28
Location
Gandhinagar
1. Is it recommended to get a receiver from USA. Offcourse considering the fact it is new with international warranty.

2. How does one manage effectively stepping down 230v to 110v and rated wattage so that the receiver gets the required power supply?

Thanks
 

Fantastic

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2010
Messages
866
Points
93
Location
Third Rock
You can buy a 230/110 volt step down transformer . Get a VA rating suiting your amp. Preferable to get an amp that can be switched to 230 V.
There is always a chance that you might plug in a 110V unit into 230 V when moving things around. It's happened many times before.
If you are super careful, go ahead and get a 110 v unit. Some units can be rewired to 230 V on the internal transformer ( they have taps) but not all amps have this provision. Many Yamaha 110V receivers have no such option.
 

parambir

Active Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2016
Messages
237
Points
28
Location
Gandhinagar
My first option will be to ask yamaha service dealer if he can change power taps without voiding warranty. If not I know I will have to be SUPER ULTRA careful. Saw a couple of them on amazon. I think I will need minimum 500w rating.
 

Fantastic

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2010
Messages
866
Points
93
Location
Third Rock
Note that step down transformers are available as an 'auto' transformer or regular isolated secondary windings. In the first one , the neutral line is common for primary and secondary. This isn't critical to this application but more importantly an auto transformer costs much less than an isolated type.
Eg: Auto transformer (500VA) costing Rs 1,400/- is Rs 2,400 in isolated version. It uses more copper ! Ordering from a local transformer maker may be better. You can get any VA you want.

Just saw your second post. If you are looking at Amazon.com, look at Amazon.de or Amazon.co.uk . There you get 230V units. Sometimes could be cheaper than Amazon.com due to lower freight charges. Now with the GBP lower than earlier maybe there are better prices ......?
 
Last edited:

efernand1

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 6, 2012
Messages
5,359
Points
113
Location
Mumbai
Hi,

Check with Yamaha India if international warranty is covered...very important...
 

parambir

Active Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2016
Messages
237
Points
28
Location
Gandhinagar
Has anyone used off the shelf converters on their receivers and can comment if there are any issues?
 

Fantastic

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2010
Messages
866
Points
93
Location
Third Rock
Step down transformers ( in a box !) are available across the counter in every city in India. The boxed ones have US style sockets on them. Cheaper than the price you have shown. My 500VA shop wound transformer looks much bigger than the unit in your picture. Unlikely that unit is 500VA !
If it's a plain transformer you can buy an extension box with multi type sockets and wire it to that.

There is no problem using the step down transformers . I have four gadgets that run off 110v step down transformers. Paint the extension box RED ( if you use one ) to indicate that it's 110 V. A 230 V unit plugged to that is no problem. But a 110V unit on 230V will blow it unless it's protected. Some newer systems with inbuilt smps are protected !
 

parambir

Active Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2016
Messages
237
Points
28
Location
Gandhinagar
I just spoke to local Yamaha service provider. He says that will be able to do modification to the receiver to work on 230V. Though he said it will cost me around 8K !!! Weel I can negotiate that with him.

Personally I will always prefer an authorised dealer modifying it rather than using a 3rd party box to do the conversion.
 

greenhorn

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2009
Messages
1,884
Points
113
Location
06851
I just spoke to local Yamaha service provider. He says that will be able to do modification to the receiver to work on 230V. Though he said it will cost me around 8K !!! Weel I can negotiate that with him.

Personally I will always prefer an authorised dealer modifying it rather than using a 3rd party box to do the conversion.

Only if he will offer warranty coverage for the full reciever !

else it may be cheaper to do it locally
http://www.hifivision.com/av-lounge...220v-indian-standard-without-transformer.html
 

parambir

Active Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2016
Messages
237
Points
28
Location
Gandhinagar

vipul_bscity

New Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2011
Messages
14
Points
0
Location
Pune, India
@parambir: If Yamaha can do if officially, nothing like it. I have seen many of the AVR / APMS with dual setting and they use one of of them (either 110v OR 220v). So changing to 220 v is merely a toggle switch else a re-solder etc. Although, these are inside the power circuit board and should not be done DIY.

If not buy a 1 KVA (Min) Step down Transformer. I am using one since last 5 yrs, paid 2000/ - INR in Mumbai. Rock solid stuff.

Now the tech side. the AVR transformer is 110v , 60Hz, what we get after the step down is 110v, 50Hz. After a prolong and heavy duty use, there has been cases where the 110v AVR transformer got core saturation and failed. Very unlikely through. No noticeable change in the AVR performance though.
 

parambir

Active Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2016
Messages
237
Points
28
Location
Gandhinagar
@parambir: If Yamaha can do if officially, nothing like it. I have seen many of the AVR / APMS with dual setting and they use one of of them (either 110v OR 220v). So changing to 220 v is merely a toggle switch else a re-solder etc. Although, these are inside the power circuit board and should not be done DIY.

If not buy a 1 KVA (Min) Step down Transformer. I am using one since last 5 yrs, paid 2000/ - INR in Mumbai. Rock solid stuff.

Now the tech side. the AVR transformer is 110v , 60Hz, what we get after the step down is 110v, 50Hz. After a prolong and heavy duty use, there has been cases where the 110v AVR transformer got core saturation and failed. Very unlikely through. No noticeable change in the AVR performance though.

Yes hopefully it works out. I am more concerned about right job than warranty.
 

parambir

Active Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2016
Messages
237
Points
28
Location
Gandhinagar
I also told him that conversion is a matter of changing transformer primary tap from parallel to series. He said that it is possible only for international models. Well I know this model is available in Europe and they use 230v there. So I don't see a reason why it can't be done this way.
 

humveeguy

Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2013
Messages
97
Points
18
Location
bangalore
Hi,
I have similar situation. I have Denon 1913 - 450 Watts receiver. I m zeroed on to Maxine 750 Watts auto transformer with a Voltage cutoff added. Shah has agreed to add the voltage cut off for me . Comes to nearly 4K for this considering it is an auto transformer only.

I'm wondering if Murthy in Blr can provide any decent option for me with a poper cutoff version at a better price .

thanks
hg
 

parambir

Active Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2016
Messages
237
Points
28
Location
Gandhinagar
Did you ask denon guys if they can modify internal power supply. It will be worth it for a few bucks more.
 
Top