Suggestion on Speakers & HT Setup

agastya

Hi,

I'm a newbie to a/v stuff and in the market for a HT setup in phased manner (prior to this I was using a YAS sound bar). Usage would be 70% music and 30% movies. Speakers -> Subwoofer -> AVR -> Center Speaker -> Surround. Not sure if this is the right path. Please advise.

If get a pair of bookshelf speakers & subwoofer now, can I upgrade them to a proper HT setup later? If so, can you please suggest some good speakers. I'm thinking of Edifier R1855DB and Edifier T5 Powered Subwoofer for now. Source for this would be TV and Phone. Budget would be around 20k.

Another question on this is, since these bookshelf and subwoofer are powered, will there be any issue in connecting to an AVR later.

Thank you!

Speakers -> Subwoofer -> AVR -> Center Speaker -> Surround. Not sure if this is the right path. Please advise.
This can't work.

Speakers essentially have two components, amplifier and the speakers themselves. In a home theater setup, the amplifier is in the AVR and the speakers are just speakers. These are called passive speakers. (This is a simplification for understanding and not technically correct).

Edifier R1855DB is an active or powered speaker pair. You can't connect them to an AVR later.

If you want to build a home theater, the first purchase needs to be an AVR. Because if you buy passive speakers, you won't have anything to connect it to.

Sadly, AVR prices start around 30k. AVRs below this price are hard to find. You can find some used options at best. Good bookshelf pair will also cost at least 15k. So if you want to start only with an AVR and bookshelf, you need a budget of at least 45k for a new set.

This can't work.

Speakers essentially have two components, amplifier and the speakers themselves. In a home theater setup, the amplifier is in the AVR and the speakers are just speakers. These are called passive speakers. (This is a simplification for understanding and not technically correct).