• Hello and Welcome to HiFiVision.com - an online community for the home entertainment and tech enthusiasts!

    If you would like to ask a question, participate in a discussion and view attachments please Register yourself.

Voltage switch from 110 to 220

Luxman Amplifiers India

Colecutter

New Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
32
Points
0
Location
New Delhi
Members,

Does anyone know of a technician who can do the job of internally switching amps and cd players which are wired for 110V, for operation in India at 220V?

Thanks.
 

awedeophile

Active Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2008
Messages
347
Points
28
Location
India
This can only be done if the internal transformer is wound to accept either 110V or 230/220V, in which case a technician can wire it to the 230V taps. Some have this provision while most (in my experience) don't.

If you're not sure if your equipment has it, it's better to use a good quality external 230/220V to 110V transformer.
 

ranjeetrain

New Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2008
Messages
2,467
Points
0
Location
New Delhi
Does anyone know of a technician who can do the job of internally switching amps and cd players which are wired for 110V, for operation in India at 220V?

Any technician with a moderate skill level can do for you so long as you explain him what you want and don't expect any guarantee of any kind thereafter. However, I'd second awedeophile's suggestion to get a step up transformer rather than trying a tweak on the amp.
 

soundsgreat

New Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2007
Messages
1,107
Points
0
Location
Bengaluru
Hi,
I also agree with both ! please don't bother to open and tamper with the original design ! instead buy a 220-110 converter,that'll not only do the job for you but save you the trouble and hassle of tampering the original transformer !
Regards.
 

audiodelic

Active Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2008
Messages
989
Points
28
Location
Hyd/Del
I used to run a transformer for my older 110v Onkyo Tx-Ds676 u.s Model.
Works just fine, the question is where does one hide the ugly black box.
 

soundsgreat

New Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2007
Messages
1,107
Points
0
Location
Bengaluru
Hi,

You can hide it in soo many places like if you have a equipment rack,Behind it or Tv trolly or anything !

The main thing is not tamper with the original transformer,hiding something is not as important as not tampering !


Regards.
 
Top