what is Free air design?

bhvm

hello everyone.
I'm new to audio world and I thought why not ask you experts About some questions buzzing my head.

what is Free air woofer and how is it different from sealed box woofer?

what are physical difference in free air and sealed woofers?

I took out some small woofers from their ported enclosures as I wanted to make sealed boxes for them. I just tried them for curiosity and there was negligible bass even though they were pulsating really well. what could cause this?

will they work well in sealed boxes?

I'll send the pics soon.

Free air data for the woofer are published where the TS parameters are mentioned. All TS parameter for a driver is mentioned with the driver suspended in free air with no reflection or pressure build from any sides.

In real time scenario drivers are mounted on an enclosure and the driver parameters vary when they are mounted on a baffle than if suspended in free-air. Even so free-air data is used for calculation of the box volume and tuning of the port, the amount of damping required in the box etc.

Driver when suspended in free air is not capable of high power handling and all TS parameters for the drivers are small signal parameters measured with around 1watt @ 1 meter.

can you explain me in simpler terms about construction difference among free air and sealed woofers? can a sealed one be converted to free air and vice versa?

can you explain me in simpler terms about construction difference among free air and sealed woofers? can a sealed one be converted to free air and vice versa?