What speakers should I go for for my PC and do I need an amplifier

AaylaSecura

Greetings! I have to say I have very little knowledge on the topic of audio systems (and electronics in general), and to be honest I don't have the time for thorough research. So I was hoping I can get some advice for my specific needs and to clear some of my confusion. I'd like to build a moderately loud (100dB for a 5m x 8m room with tiles on the floor), good quality 2.0 or 2.1 setup that will connect to my PC. I have an ASUS X99 PRO motherboard which boasts some very high quality sound capabilities (8-Channel Realtek ALC1150), and apart from the usual analog output it has optical S/PDIF digital output, which I'd like to make use of. The specs also list "High quality 112 dB SNR stereo playback output (Line-out at rear) and 104 dB SNR stereo playback input (Line-in)" and "High-fidelity audio OP AMP(s)", don't know what that means or how it is relevant.

Is my understanding correct that:
Power rating in Watts on speaker specifications refers to max safe input power and does not directly relate to the sound pressure level (SPL) in dB? But is this only relevant if connected to a 3rd party amplifier or does it refer to the internal amplifier? What does it tell me if I want to connect it to a 3rd party amplifier?
Sensitivity is the SPL 1m away for 1W of input power? The problem is that most speakers omit the sensitivity in the specifications so how can I tell what the maximum SPL in dB I can get out of the speakers is? Can I connect any speaker set to an amplifier to make it louder and how do I match the power rating of amplifiers and speakers so that it is safe for both the amplifier and the speaker?