AVR (Budget ~35-40k) + Front Speakers (20~30k) suggestions

Hi

I am not familiar with the Philips but if you can check the specs in terms of supported formats...take a print or note it down...then check the pioneer specs in terms of formats....do a pro and cons and decide...

IMHO I have been using Pioneer as a brand for the past 8 years now ranging from DVD players to Blu Ray...I currently have the BDP LX 55 and the BDP 150...being more than 2/3 years now all working fine, has 2 USB slots where HDD is connected.....

Before I used to use Sony but unfortunately the built quality has become poor over the years.

I would put my money on a Pioneer, if I had the budget, I would go in for Oppo or Cambridge Audio....

Update: Bought 15AWG from ProFx @120/meter.

On Topic: I'm not able to tune in to FM Radio. I've connected the antenna but no reception. Any help?

And it seems that USB does not play movies!! can someone with Marantz AVR confirm this?

If it doesn't play movies via USB, what's the vfm option to add a source?

Philips 2185 Blu Ray player? - around 5k
Pioneer BDP 180? - around 15k

Please suggest. Thanks

Yes USB does not play Video. Its mainly for connecting an apple device or a pen drive for music.

From my Marantz 1504 manual:
Only USB memory devices conforming to mass storage class and MTP (Media Transfer Protocol) standards can be played on this unit.
This unit is compatible with USB memory devices in FAT16 or FAT32 format.
This unit is compatible with MP3 files conforming to MPEG-1 Audio Layer-3 standards.
File types that this unit can play back and specifications are shown below.

Supported file types
  • WMA (Windows Media Audio)
  • MP3 (MPEG-1 Audio Layer-3)
  • WAV
  • MPEG-4 AAC
  • FLAC (Free Lossless Audio Codec)
  • JPEG
  • ALAC (Apple Lossless Audio Codec)