Best Media Player for playing FLAC

anirvanbhadra

Guys

I have all my music on a portable drive most of its FLAC but how do i listen to that on my system - i have an onkyo HTIB with a LG DVDp. The onkyo has a input for connecting an ipod, the DVDp has an USB but no FLAC. So i want to know whats the best source for playing these files as in a player or i get to burn all my music into CDs/DVDs? and any special connections to be made. I am a novice at this totally.

Dear Anir,
If you can spend about 6 to 8K you may go for Hardware media players like AC Ryan Mini (Rs.7,700/-), WD HD player ( Rs. 6,000/-) or may be Xtreamer (Rs.8,000/-). These players can play almost all file formats including latest vedio file formts like MKV. Also there firmware is upgradable to take care of future codec needs. These fasilities are not available with normol DVD players. Hope this helps.

in fact i was planning to get a WDTV - but how would the connections be done?

I have a WD TV, and it plays flacs perfectly.

The WD TV connects to an AVR via HDMI or Opticla digital. Both outputs are available. Or, if you want to use the built in DAC, it has stereo analog out too.

WD player can play flac,but SQ is not that good (other members has reported it)
You need DAC then as MBR said.

Cowon D2 is good one.
As 'spirovius' said, Cowon products are great in sound quality. I am using iAudio 7 (8GB). Our forum member Clearcut recently bought D2. He is very happy about the sound quality. By the way, Cowon D2 is available on stock clearance sale and the price for 4GB is Rs. 5500/-

Guys

I am also going to look at a dedicated set up for stereo amps and bookshelves for music - so are there any budget amps which have HDMI connectivity - as i plan to use the WDTV in sync with the same.