• Hello and Welcome to HiFiVision.com - an online community for the home entertainment and tech enthusiasts!

    If you would like to ask a question, participate in a discussion and view attachments please Register yourself.

Bluray - Why no full screen ?

Easy EMI Options at HiFiMART.com

Naveen_Reloaded

Active Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2009
Messages
509
Points
28
Location
Salem
Hi guys ...

i bought dark knight , but when i played it thru PS3 , only the IMAX scenes were full screen , i mean , full screen on my 40" LCD without letterbox black borders..


on other scenes there was letter box border.

why is it so ? so will all my BLURAY will have black borders ? if so whats the purpose of bluray and why did i get a LCD when i cant view it in full screen without these black borders
 

spirovious

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2008
Messages
12,660
Points
113
Location
Mumbai
Its due to format/aspect ratio.
In theatre,AR is wider than 16:9 like on LCD.new Philips LCD has come up with 21:9 AR. LCD can zoom the screen,but you may miss some info.
 

Naveen_Reloaded

Active Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2009
Messages
509
Points
28
Location
Salem
Its due to format/aspect ratio.
In theatre,AR is wider than 16:9 like on LCD.new Philips LCD has come up with 21:9 AR. LCD can zoom the screen,but you may miss some info.


ya but wht the use of having a 16:9 LCD ? when all the DVD/Bluray are in theatre aspect ratio ? or the other way round ?

how is that we see moves in HBO and Star movie channels full screen , but not in DVD / bluray ? i dont think we miss anything in HBO / STAR ,

i can zoom , as u said i miss a lot of info of the video...
 

suprateep

New Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
1,103
Points
0
Location
Chicago
Hi guys ...

i bought dark knight , but when i played it thru PS3 , only the IMAX scenes were full screen , i mean , full screen on my 40" LCD without letterbox black borders..


on other scenes there was letter box border.

why is it so ? so will all my BLURAY will have black borders ? if so whats the purpose of bluray and why did i get a LCD when i cant view it in full screen without these black borders

you can use pan n scan but a lot of info will be cut off, not to mention the PQ getting distorted. This is more to do with the aspect ratio of the movie file.

PS: HTPC poses no problems with all the picture information coming in with borders gone, though characters and things looking anemic at times. ;)
 

srenjith

Active Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2008
Messages
174
Points
28
Location
trivandrum
Hi,
If you have seen the bonus disc which came along with the dark knight, it clearly says that only I max shot frames will be in full screen mode and others will be on cinemascope...
 

spirovious

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2008
Messages
12,660
Points
113
Location
Mumbai
ya but wht the use of having a 16:9 LCD ? when all the DVD/Bluray are in theatre aspect ratio ? or the other way round ?

how is that we see moves in HBO and Star movie channels full screen , but not in DVD / bluray ? i dont think we miss anything in HBO / STAR ,

i can zoom , as u said i miss a lot of info of the video...

Well before widescreen,16:9 was widely used format(very early 4:3)
Now techno changed & even AR too(wider)So 16:9 LCD get crossbars.
Philips has comeup with same wider LCDs.

Now why 16:9,we people still watch SD TV programs,So 16:9 is midway to both.(4:3 & 21:9)

HBO mov are transmitted after AR is adjusted(ie4:3) so that all tvs can show it properly ,but with cutting some info.If you check mov on HBO & same DVD,you will come to know what am I saying.New DTH system has opt to select AR whichever your tv is.
 
Top