Converting Cassette tapes to digital

Dear forum members,
I am planning to convert my cassette tapes to digital.
I need suggestions regarding
1. which software will give best results ?
2.Does I need any soundcard?

Experts in this field please give advice for good results.

A good soundcard is required as the Tape Deck out will be inputted to it.

There are many softwares available, I did this years back for songs which are difficult to find....the rest were downloaded over the years....

Sony Sound Forge should work....

I have some experience with digitizing vinyl, this is not much different. Audacity works but you will need a good external ADC, I got very good results with an Edirol device(UA-25). It's very similar to the Focusrite devices that are available on Bajaao or Amazon. You will need XLR to RCA cables from MX which are cheap and easily available. With the Edirol, using the advanced driver I could digitise to 24/96. A computer with minimum 8GB RAM and SSD is preferable to avoid any latency issues. Best to use the preamplifier output and set level just below clipping, this will vary based on the original recording.

Hi,
I too have many MiniDV cassettes to be digitized. I am having Sony camcorder 2004 model which is still working. I saw few youtube videos showing that a capture card(Ex: Dazzle DVC100) or video 2 pc(Ex: ION) adapter is required to transfer the videos on tape to pc. Did anyone try like this? Any best practices? What would be the price of these tools in India? Any local tool which is as effective as the above stated tools?
Thanks in advance.

Hi,