Difference between Distance & Level adjustment in AVR

pupupuchi28

I have been using the Yamaha RX V371 for almost three months now and have played with all the configuration option. But I fail to understand one thing. What is the difference between adjusting 'Distance' of a speaker (in the AVR setting) when compared to the 'Level' (adjustment in AVR) of individual speakers. To me both give the same result, change in volume.

However I noticed the 'throw' of the sound changes on adjusting the distance, compared to the volume level when 'Level' is adjusted. This may be my own perception. But thats precisely what the question is.

What is the difference guys?

I'm looking for a 'technically logical answer' rather than a 'mass market generic answer'.

Last edited:
Let me try to explain in the way I have understood it.

When we run Audyssey or similar, the AVR configures itself automatically. It identifies automatically the speaker size and distance between each speaker and listening/viewing position. The throw is determined automatically as part of this process.

We then watch a test video and see if it is set to our liking. If we want more volume on the centre channel (vocals) or surround speakers, we will need to increase the level on it. If we max out on the level try over-riding the AVR's auto config by increasing the distance so that the throw is adjusted. If this does not work, try to physically move the speaker closer to the listening position. At this stage, consider a speaker/AVR upgrade or both:).

Hope this helps.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Let me try to explain in the way I have understood it.

When we run Audyssey or similar, the AVR configures itself automatically. It identifies automatically the speaker size and distance between each speaker and listening/viewing position. The throw is determined automatically as part of this process.