For a complete newbie, recommend me headphones < 70K

essrand

Hello,

I own a Nagra Tube DAC which has quite a decent headphone amp I have heard. I would like to buy a headphone that can utilise the potential of my DAC without going too crazy on the price.

I am not particularly interested in going down the rabbit hole and upgrade path etc, would like something that's great and will keep me happy, something that is right on that curve of diminishing returns.

I am more of a stereo guy but many a time can't play music loud all the time.

Would love some suggestions.

Two criterions:
1. No headphones amp should be needed. My DAC has a decent one but not sure if it can support Headphones that need a lot of drive.
2. Closed back preferred, but am flexible.

Looking to buy once and keep.

Thanks in advance for your help.

My personal choice at that budget would be an Ananda or LCD2C. Buy for your requirements Focal Elegia is a good fit.

Hello,

I own a Nagra Tube DAC which has quite a decent headphone amp I have heard. I would like to buy a headphone that can utilise the potential of my DAC without going too crazy on the price.

I am not particularly interested in going down the rabbit hole and upgrade path etc, would like something that's great and will keep me happy, something that is right on that curve of diminishing returns.

Two criterions:
1. No headphones amp should be needed. My DAC has a decent one but not sure if it can support Headphones that need a lot of drive.

If you are going to be playing music at fairly moderate/loud volumes and someone else is going to be in the room then closed back is a better option, else would suggest to go blindly for open back at this budget.