Got a pair of AR 2ax speakers- Help!

Analogous

Got a pair of Acoustic Research AR 2ax speakers
60 years old
The potentiometers feel like there is sand inside them
I have modest expectations of how it can perform but it obviously needs some TLC
Can a DIYer from Bangalore guide me?

Attachments

• IMG_6088.jpeg
    IMG_6088.jpeg
    91.4 KB · Views: 68
  • IMG_6087.jpeg
    IMG_6087.jpeg
    110.3 KB · Views: 71
  • IMG_6086.jpeg
    IMG_6086.jpeg
    114.9 KB · Views: 70
I really want to hear the story of how you got them 😀 ...is it on the lines of you were walking by in the beach when you stubbed your toe and dug and found the speaker or you were walking in a jungle and found a crashed airplane with these speakers ?

Well I'm a long way from Bangalore and I'm no expert on AR speakers but I do own a few pairs and I can offer some comments.

The tweeter and mid adjustments in these are made with wirewound L-Pads, not common potentiometers. So they probably never felt as smooth as a pot, even when they were new. The connections between the wiper and the wirewound loop get corroded over time and make it even worse. The corrosion is caused by gasses released by the material they used to stuff the cabinets, which is called "rock wool", I think.

If they're working fine (which is unlikely) and the sound isn't cutting out at certain settings the rough feel is not a problem. If they're cutting out and the corrosion isn't too extreme you can pull them out and clean them with a wire brush and some contact cleaner or something.

The back of the cabinets are not removable, which is a pain. You have to remove the woofers and go in through the front in order to pull the L-Pads out and clean them.

I've got a different model (2-way AR 4ax?) set up in a system now and I was able to get them to work at the tweeter setting I like. I don't really care if they cut out at other settings.