My Market Study

debzkool

Ok first off I am a newbie so please ignore any mistakes I make and please do bring them to my notice.
This is going to be a very long read

I have been planning to write a small post about my findings in the past few weeks. This is a mix of DIY and other topics so planned to post it here. This including several trips to places in and around Kolkata, Mumbai and Bangalore(current location)

To start off I am a newbie and recently acquired interest in the higher quality of music/home entertainment.
It all began when I inherited a huge bunch of LP's (78's 33's n 44's) when my parental homes in Kolkata was being cleaned up for new building construction. I inherited about 200-250 LP's dated since the 40's n 50's which mostly belonged to my grandparents, parents and uncles. These would have been either discarded or been given off to the local raddi wala.

So now I had the LP's but the LP players that I inherited wasnt in working condition, the rubber washers had all melted and the rubber wheel(which turns the drive) had become brittle. So I stated off by looking for an LP player. I started by doing some research on google and found the LP's have returned with a bang, also found that there is a huge rise in interest over the recent past.
Since I wasnt sure of how long I would actually have interest in LP's, and also my dad telling me that his first LP player was a used one gifted to him by his dad, I planned to take the same path. After asking friends and family I was directed to Lenin Sarani.

The shop that I went to is bang opposite Kamalalaya Centre on Lenin Sarani. There are 3 shops all belonging to the same same person Illyas bhai. The used LP store is run by Zakir(a very helpful guy) and the record player store and the repair workshop run by Musa Bhai.