Need advice on what to buy

musicmatters

Hi all

I am a newbie to this forum. have so far just used basic audio equipment but want to upgrade.

Here are some specs

1. room size 30 * 14 * 11 - with external balconies (need for outdoor speakers there)

2. Would listen to music only (no movies / TV linkage)

3. Listen largely to 70/80 rock, some indian classical, some jazz, some hindi films.

4. Source of music - part CD and part ipod

5.Budget - all put together around 1.5 - 2 Lacs

Have been hearing various things from various people and am completely confused now

Questions (some very basic)

1. Where in Mumbai should I go and buy from? Do these guys negotiate?

2. What all would I need to buy - receiver, CD/BD player, speakers, external speaker, cables?

3 Floor standing speakers - yes or no?

4. Have been recommened to buy NAD C 356BEE , PSB Imagine Speakers Tower - opinions

5, I can make out sound difference but cant put it very technically. Can someone advice on how to think about choices

Will go and do an audition and wanted to check

you could start off auditioning the monitor audio rx6. imo theyre the speakers to beat in the price range. it pairs very well with the nad - you'll need the c375, but not so great for hard rock since the bass isnt really tight and forward enough (im talking about the amp). but will play indian classical very well since you need a warmer sounding amp with the shrill highs. will just roll it off a bit. also extremely good for jazz. deep down lows, sweet highs, full mids and very musical. if youre not too happy with the amp then you can check out cambridge and marantz as well

Let me try to answer...
- For the hall size you have, certainly floor stands is the way to go, otherwise get pair of book shelves with large drivers (8" and above). Basically large drivers for wider dispersion of air (though not necessarily translate to good sound)