Need help buying a mini Hi-Fi component system

sance

Hello everybody,

I need some help in picking a decent mini hi-fi component system in the price range of Rs.15k - 20k. I plan to use it exclusively for listening to stereo audio, so I wont be needing 5.1 speakers, dvd playback, etc. The features I need are pretty much these: audio/mp3 CD playback, FM/AM Radio and external audio inputs to hook up to my PC. Playing from a USB stick would be a bonus.
I am pretty new to the world of hi-fi. I have owned a basic micro hi-fi system from Sony (NEZ 33) before, and am looking to upgrade. I came across the Onkyo CS-325 (ONKYO SIGHT & SOUND INDIA), which seems to meet all my requirements. However, I feel it's grossly overpriced here. (Rs. 18k here, vs $200 on Amazon US).
Could any of the knowledgeable crowd here point me to suitable systems?
Also, kindly point me to any threads on the site, if something similar has already been discussed before.
Any suggestions/help appreciated !

Thanks,
Sandeep.

Hi,
From the very few Mini comps that i have heard the onkyo seems the best bet. I heard the older model and i presume the newer offering is as good if not better.
Since u are decided on a mini comp i wont ask u to look at a seperates system which will be more musical and upgradeable.
Most things in audio are over priced, some ridiculously and some moderately so its no point ranting. Bargain with them and get the best deal but dont expect US prices here.
Regards

Hello Dinyaar,

You mentioned building a system out of individual components. I am definitely not against it, but I am worried it will be well over my budget. Is it possible to build one at the Rs. 20k price point?

Sandeep.

Hello Dinyaar,

You mentioned building a system out of individual components. I am definitely not against it, but I am worried it will be well over my budget. Is it possible to build one at the Rs. 20k price point?

Sandeep.

Welcome to the forum Sance