• Hello and Welcome to HiFiVision.com - an online community for the home entertainment and tech enthusiasts!

    If you would like to ask a question, participate in a discussion and view attachments please Register yourself.

poor file transfer rate from PC to A-400

Wharfedale Evo 4.2

ragnar83

New Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2020
Messages
6
Points
3
Location
Saint-Raphael (France)
Hello

I have a popcorn A-400 with a 2TB HDD formated in ext3 and running the NMT applications.
When I copy video files from my PC to the A-400 the rate is only 7MB/s.
Whether through Samba or by FTP I get only 7MB/s.
I'm aware the rate is poor when the HDD is in NTFS, but it's not the case here, the HDD is in ext3.
The A-400 is connected to my routeur in Ethernet (Internet speedtest shows 25MB/s)
My PC is connected to my routeur in Wifi
I find this strange since the A-400 has a Gigabit Eth port.

Any idea that could explain this poor rate ?
 

Love4sound

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2018
Messages
2,009
Points
113
Location
Chennai
Hello

I have a popcorn A-400 with a 2TB HDD formated in ext3 and running the NMT applications.
When I copy video files from my PC to the A-400 the rate is only 7MB/s.
Whether through Samba or by FTP I get only 7MB/s.
I'm aware the rate is poor when the HDD is in NTFS, but it's not the case here, the HDD is in ext3.
The A-400 is connected to my routeur in Ethernet (Internet speedtest shows 25MB/s)
My PC is connected to my routeur in Wifi
I find this strange since the A-400 has a Gigabit Eth port.

Any idea that could explain this poor rate ?
Hey welcome to the forum. I don’t know how to help you out as i have no idea about popcorn a-400. 1st i thoutht it is some popcorn machine hahaha.Let me share my experience on how i recently fixed my slowness issues. First in my PC copying files from one path to another and from PC to external hard disk was extremely slow. I also use a nvidia shield and set up a plex server which was also very slow. Copying from one path to another and from PC to external HD was at 2-5 mb/s. So the first thing i did was change my hard disk and the speed increased to 60-70 mb/s. And also the router i had supported only 100mb/s so i upgraded to a Gigabit router. And even then copying files to external HD which was used as storage device for shield was very slow. Finally changed that as well and now speed is normal. So in my case the major issue was with both my pc hard disk and WD elements external hard disk.
 

ragnar83

New Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2020
Messages
6
Points
3
Location
Saint-Raphael (France)
Thank you for sharing your experience. The pb is neither the source nor the target HDD : both are SATA-3 WD caviar green 2TB capable of over 100MB/s transfer. Unless the target has a HW pb, of course. I suspect my upload rate over my wifi, or the Wifi routeur itself. Next step I will connect my PC to the routeur in Ethernet. I will have to move my PC for that but at least I will if the wifi is the pb or not. If it's not better I will bring an Ethernet switch and connect to the popcorn directly. Then I'll know for sure.
Thanks for your help.
 

jai1611

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2009
Messages
1,184
Points
83
Location
Bangalore
Try switching to the 5ghz band for wifi, 2.4ghz is slower.
Otherwise try a wired connection to pc
 
Joined
Nov 29, 2018
Messages
78
Points
18
Location
Chennai
Hi @ragnar83,
Welcome to the forum. I have not used Popcorn players, but have used ACRyan based box. I had similar issue and later found out that these board while they have ethernet, their speeds are limited. But since you said you tried it over wifi, better try with ethernet and see the transfer rate.
 

saikatbiswas82

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2012
Messages
1,292
Points
113
Location
Kolkata
Use wired connection. CAT 6/7 cables and a gigabit unmanaged switch. Most routers ethernet ports are not gigabit ones.
 

ragnar83

New Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2020
Messages
6
Points
3
Location
Saint-Raphael (France)
Hi @ragnar83,
Welcome to the forum. I have not used Popcorn players, but have used ACRyan based box. I had similar issue and later found out that these board while they have ethernet, their speeds are limited. But since you said you tried it over wifi, better try with ethernet and see the transfer rate.
Hi jagadeeshwarank. And sorry for this late reply. Yes I will definitely do a test with Eth cables. Thanks
 
Top