• Hello and Welcome to HiFiVision.com - an online community for the home entertainment and tech enthusiasts!

    If you would like to ask a question, participate in a discussion and view attachments please Register yourself.

Power cables

  • Thread starter Deleted member 38504
  • Start date
Subscibe to HiFiMART Newsletter
D

Deleted member 38504

Guest
I’m looking at getting about 3 or 4 power cables from the US. A friend will bring them along.

Use will be in ht and stereo setup.

I’m looking at a price range of about 50 to 70 USD per cable. Any suggestions will be appreciated.
 
SPONSORED ADS

SPONSORED ADS

rikhav

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2008
Messages
2,409
Points
113
Signal

Pangea

These two immediately come to mind
 
D

Deleted member 38504

Guest
Thanks mahesh, the ice age is a lil beyond budget.
@rikhav ill look at those two u mentioned. Thanks buddy
 

raghupb

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 11, 2015
Messages
1,899
Points
113
Location
Bengaluru
@celester340
You are also considering power conditioner/stabilizer between mains and electronics.
In such a situation, would a change of stock power cables make an additional difference?
Cheers,
Raghu
 
D

Deleted member 38504

Guest
I’ve already purchased the Rontek for my ht system and the barracuda for my stereo setup.

I don’t know how much a change it will make, but an amp that costs 1.5 lacs just deserves an aftermarket power cable. I’ll sleep better then :D it may not even make a difference and my ears probably won’t even know. But I still want to because I believe it might.
 

raghupb

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 11, 2015
Messages
1,899
Points
113
Location
Bengaluru
I’ve already purchased the Rontek for my ht system and the barracuda for my stereo setup.

I don’t know how much a change it will make, but an amp that costs 1.5 lacs just deserves an aftermarket power cable. I’ll sleep better then :D it may not even make a difference and my ears probably won’t even know. But I still want to because I believe it might.
The first highlight in bold is everyone's wish
The second one is very true in my case (my hearing is not what it used to be) :(
Please post your impressions/review on Rontek and Barracuda (here or in a separate thread)
Cheers,
Raghu
 

rikhav

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2008
Messages
2,409
Points
113
I had the the rontek (one with no voltage stabilization) for demo few months ago
And when I changed the stock cable which powers the unit from the wall plug to an after market cable (acrolink) there was a change in sound for the better

Of course, it's difficult to quantify the change but it was a big enough change to my ears and that too for the better
 
D

Deleted member 38504

Guest
Ok thanks bhai at least that's good to know. You guys are more technically apt to make reviews and comments. I've also got the one without the voltage stabilization. Delivery in a few days.
 

Hassan Khani

Active Member
Joined
Mar 21, 2011
Messages
360
Points
43
Location
bangalore
You can contact Mr.Murthy in Bangalore for power cords. You can customize the length as well as choice of plug and it is well made. Most of my power cables are from him.
 
SPONSORED ADS

lalit09

Active Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2017
Messages
328
Points
43
Location
indore
I recently bought wireworld stratus 7, it's very heavy flat cable. I think it price around 120usd.
 
D

Deleted member 38504

Guest
That's little out of budget. I can and want to speand about 70-80 USD max. Need 3 or 4 cables, hence. Thank you for the suggestion.
 

drkrack

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2016
Messages
1,038
Points
113
Location
Hyderabad
I have a very Good experience with this replica from AE. It costed 5k after customs because the Cable weighs Nearley 1kg !
It softened the Treble with Darker backgrounds , more warmer signature. The original one costs about 50k and only NOS available as far as I know.

Accuphase 40th Anniversary Cable AE

Pangea 14se is a good (not as good as Accuphase in My setup) cable and so is Pangea 9, they'll work out cheaper if you can source them from USA. the other cables are pretty costlier, I wasn't impressed much with Murthy Power Cables, whereas I bought four pair of Murthys interconnects.
 

oracle1974

Active Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2010
Messages
354
Points
43
Location
Mumbai
I’m looking at getting about 3 or 4 power cables from the US. A friend will bring them along.

Use will be in ht and stereo setup.

I’m looking at a price range of about 50 to 70 USD per cable. Any suggestions will be appreciated.
Get power outlets from Maestro. It will be the first place to start for getting better quality power.
 
D

Deleted member 38504

Guest
It's available in the US or sourced here in India?
 
D

Deleted member 38504

Guest
Thanks josh

@drkrack thanks for that. I'll have a look and also at the pangea. I have someone coming from the US so it's going to be from there.
 

Dr.vinayaka

Active Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2017
Messages
226
Points
28
Location
Shimoga, Karnataka
My all time favourite- audioart power1 cable. Awsome-cost-18,000 for 2metres. It improves sound stage and I can clearly make out each sound and more crisp and had improved bass. 5 stars to audioart. After imax update my Marantz SR6013 sound signature has improved a lot and I love my Marantz the best receiver for music and movies
 
SPONSORED ADS

Top