Advice needed on home setup

Polaris

Greetings,

I'm looking for advice on how to setup my home theatre(s) setup. I'm a relative novice and please accept my thanks in advance for your patience!

I am looking to set up three and possible four different rooms.

1. Room 1 (160 sq. ft.): LED TV, HDMP, BR/DVD/CD player, Tata Sky+ HD STB, laptop
  2. Room 2 (150): LED TV, HDMP, Gaming console, laptop
  3. Room 3 (175): LCD TV, HDMP, Tata Sky HD STB
  4. Room 4 (270) (maybe): Audio system only / pipe output from Room 1.

I'd like surround systems ideally for all the rooms and I'd like to accomplish this properly and economically with aesthetically pleasing and clutter-free results. IMO, only Room 1 and Room 2 (and possibly 4) require a sub-woofer. I am unsure as to what the current standards are and if 5.1 setup is still sufficient. I would appreciate insight on how to go about this: whether to go for home theatre systems or to build decks, speaker systems and so on. If you would like to know the size of each room, please let me know!

My thanks once again!

Last edited:
I'm not really sure your exact situation, and whether these four rooms are meant for four separate people. If most of this is meant to be used by one person, I'd suggest combining rooms 1, 2 and 4. You'll be able to setup a far better room and use far better equipment by combining the budget (which would otherwise be spread over 3 rooms).

You'll need to mention your total budget or room-wise budget, to get meaningful replies.

Depending on room size, layout etc, there are a lot of possibilities.

You can get a 2 zone receiver for Room 1 so that your Room 4 requirement is taken care of. However, using just the OEM remote of most AV receivers, you will only be able to change source and volume of Room 4 when you are in Room 1.

Hi Hydra,