AKAI AP-002 Turntable

mbhangui

My journey with Vinyl started in this forum. I am still a newbie as far as turntables are concerned. Few weeks back I acquired a Kenwood KD-37R. I wrote about it here http://www.hifivision.com/phono-turntables/22667-kenwood-kd-37r.html

However, the kenwood turntable looked a bit modern for my taste and my hunt for another turntable started. I came across an advt for Akai AP-002 turntable in olx.in and to the best of my luck, the seller was from this forum. Just few emails and calls exchanged, the turntable was packed to my address in Chennai professionally and in perfect condition. Thank you :) Hemant Waghe for this transaction, your gesture in giving me free LPs along with this beautiful piece of art.

Already in love with this turntable :yahoo:.

I opened it and found few things.

1) It has a big AC motor. The motor has a solid build and will last a lifetime. It also has the 'Made in Japan' tag. Can I use a fan speed regulator (thyristor control)?

2) It has two threads enclosed in plastic tubes which open up at the top just below the platter. There is a label "Oil" just at the opening. So to oil the bearings, one just needs to put few drops. The threads will use capillary action to take the oil to the bearings. Beautiful use of high school physics

3) My turntable came fitted with Shure M75EJ cartridge.

4) The turntable completed ~ 33.5 revs in 59 seconds.

5) The entire mechanism is so simple (including the automatic return), that any problem in the future can be rectified by using parts from my junk box.

6) Some of the springs have been made just by using a thick copper wire with one section folded into a 'V' shape. The 'V' Section then acts like a spring. Such springs can easily be fabricated at home.

7) The turntable has RCA out for the left, right channel and a terminal for the earth wire.