Captinnoob

It would be mainly used for listening to music and gaming,

Am a complete Noob at this, so help me find something good

Cheers!!

Cheers!!
Hi, welcome to the forum.

Are you looking for active speakers or amplifier+passive speaker setup?

What is your source?

Have a pair of NHT super ones if you are interested. 17k
New ones sell for 39k

I have heard them and did not receive them well. Underwhelming, no matter what permutation and combination of DACs and Amps I tried, ranging from the Topping E30, Chord mojo to the RME ADI-2 DAC FS paired with a Marantz PM6006, SMSL DA-9 and a Cambridge Audio CXA81. The speaker has no dynamics so to speak of and neither can it go loud. It images fine and so is the soundstage but the tweeter is unrefined so details you hear across the soundstage are coarse. This all adds up to a presentation that is not harsh or unpleasant but rather, underwhelming as alluded to earlier 😋.

Even while paired with dual REL T9is, the presentation was flat and uninteresting and I never managed to pump any life into or out of them, any which way you look at it.

Applying the yardstick of a layman, a friend I lent them to much preferred his Marshall Stanmore. Now while the Marshall is not a bad speaker by any means and costs almost twice as much, you have to factor in amplification with the LX-2 mk-ii so that'll be an additional 15-25k. I would recommend anybody contemplating the Mission LX-2 Mk-ii to hear it first.

My two cents would be to stick to active/powered speakers at this budget. The Hivi D1200 is a good place to start since it has an entire digital connectivity suite, while avoiding the Edifier 1280DBs - another popularly bought but underwhelming speaker.

Spend an additional 7k to get the HiVi D1090 and you have a speaker that is untouchable by any passive setup below 50K I've ever heard. Its the bees knees of budget speakers.

Last edited:

Cheers!!

Hi

Welcome to the Forum.