Confused - Yamaha 475 from Canada and more.....

locopoco

Hi All,

I am a newbie (and a complete novice).... both to the forum and to the audiophile genre.

I have been contemplating for some time to have a better listening experience but was always confused on where to start.

Discovered hifi vision and was completely blown by the depth of knowledge of the members. I guess it is the place where i can get the best advice.

Requirement: Actually i listen to a bit of everything - old Hindi Songs, new ones, English pop, some rock n gazals.

My living room is about 150sqft, but i may move onto a bigger apartment with the living room size of abt 300sqft.

Due to budgetary constraints (and since the room size is also small) - i am thinking of getting bookshelves with an av receiver.

Now, the urgency is that I am in Canada and would be coming back next tuesday. I am thinking of picking a AV receiver from Canada.

I am considering the Yamaha 475 - which is available for $400 here. I will have to buy a step down transformer with that. I am a little wary of the transformer stuff. D

Do you think it makes sense?

I am confused on the bookshelves - would love to have your suggestions.

Would really love to hear your views on the receiver and suggestions on bookshelves.....however, I have only 3-4 days to make my purchase and hence would be grateful for a fast response.

Thnx in advance, guys !!

I wouldn't suggest you to buy AVR from Canada, the price is good but there will be warranty issues in India if any. You can buy RX-V473 @31K in India, 475 is costing almost same with supply from Canada. So it's all up to you what you prefer.

Hi Prepress,

I guess you are right...... I am also in two minds on picking up an AVR from Canada.

I reckon, will pick up the avr from Mumbai only.

My other confusion is regarding the overall set - up I am contemplating.