Disney hotstar imax enhanced

Audio Video Cables Galore

girishtd8262

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 24, 2020
Messages
413
Points
63
Location
Mysore
Shang chi on hot star ,is it imax enhanced..I read so many posts saying so .
But I don't see that option on my sony OLED A8G or on my projector 9400 .
Using apple TV 4 k and nvidia as streaming device.
My avr is 3600 it's imax enhanced.
Is that version available for indian subscribers
 

buxx

Active Member
Joined
May 8, 2008
Messages
501
Points
43
Its so frustrating.. the preview plays in IMAX , but the movie doesnt.

That being said, Sony TVs have a known issue with IMAX on Disney+.
 

ankitbhargava

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2012
Messages
922
Points
63
Location
Udaipur
Shang chi on hot star ,is it imax enhanced..I read so many posts saying so .
But I don't see that option on my sony OLED A8G or on my projector 9400 .
Using apple TV 4 k and nvidia as streaming device.
My avr is 3600 it's imax enhanced.
Is that version available for indian subscribers
IMAX enhanced version is not being streamed in India (Hotstar Disney+) , its only available on Disney+ in selected countries.
If you are able to catch hold of dowloaded version, you can watch the IMAX version.
 

OM_2K19

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 2, 2019
Messages
1,490
Points
113
Location
Bangalore
Some additional info...


It's a marvelous initiative, looking forward to seeing it in action. It will be the Next Big Thing in streaming if they can pull this off within the limited streaming bandwidth.
 
Last edited:

buxx

Active Member
Joined
May 8, 2008
Messages
501
Points
43
What a crazy thing - I can seemingly get the larger aspect ratio (but in 1080p) through the Hotstar website ! Tried it on Shang-Chi movie.. Maybe my eyes are playing with me.
 

micjak77

Active Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2006
Messages
246
Points
28
Shang Chi Legend of Ten Rings is in IMAX AR on Hotstar India, where as other marvel movies are not. Watched it in the IMAX aspect ratio without black bars. I guess we have to wait for the other movies. Even then this is just half baked with just AR changes and no IMAX enhanced sound that needs to be in DTS X. Disney is going to roll that out much later.
 

msankadi

Active Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2012
Messages
453
Points
43
Location
Bangalore
I remember watching the imax version of dark knight on my ht....it was only few scenes but man when they came on there was a clear difference...hope hotstar has that kind of impact although I highly doubt a streaming bandwidth can replicate the true potential...however if this leads to more imax content being created then there is hope of getting the untouched blurays to play those instead
 

raghupb

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 11, 2015
Messages
2,905
Points
113
Location
Bengaluru
Does Hotstar have titles in DD or DD+ ?
Last evening watched Shang Chi.
The TV (hosting Hotstar app) is connected to AVR via ARC.
AVR does not see DD or DD+
Defaults to PL-II Cinema

Cheers,
Raghu
 

sud98

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2008
Messages
2,414
Points
113
Location
bangalore,india
Does Hotstar have titles in DD or DD+ ?
Last evening watched Shang Chi.
The TV (hosting Hotstar app) is connected to AVR via ARC.
AVR does not see DD or DD+
Defaults to PL-II Cinema

Cheers,
Raghu
Yes, it does. Mandalorian is a good one to start.
 

raghupb

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 11, 2015
Messages
2,905
Points
113
Location
Bengaluru
No such luck. I think Hotstar has 5.1 only on select apps/platforms.
Yes on FireTV and AppleTV or something. No luck for WebOS that's on LG.

Cheers,
Raghu
 

ankitbhargava

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2012
Messages
922
Points
63
Location
Udaipur
Shang Chi Legend of Ten Rings is in IMAX AR on Hotstar India, where as other marvel movies are not. Watched it in the IMAX aspect ratio without black bars. I guess we have to wait for the other movies. Even then this is just half baked with just AR changes and no IMAX enhanced sound that needs to be in DTS X. Disney is going to roll that out much later.
 

msankadi

Active Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2012
Messages
453
Points
43
Location
Bangalore
You got it right. 5.1 is not yet available on WebOS/Tizen.
That's so sad, I think all tv manufacturers should stop putting smart features in their tvs and adjust the price downwards. We can happily spend our money then on fire stick or Chromecast
 

raghupb

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 11, 2015
Messages
2,905
Points
113
Location
Bengaluru
You got it right. 5.1 is not yet available on WebOS/Tizen.
What a bummer :(

That's so sad, I think all tv manufacturers should stop putting smart features in their tvs and adjust the price downwards. We can happily spend our money then on fire stick or Chromecast
Didn't work with Chromecast either. My firestick is doing "smart duty" on a "dumb TV" at my parents place. Will have to try it sometime.

Cheers,
Raghu
 

msankadi

Active Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2012
Messages
453
Points
43
Location
Bangalore
What a bummer :(


Didn't work with Chromecast either. My firestick is doing "smart duty" on a "dumb TV" at my parents place. Will have to try it sometime.

Cheers,
Raghu
I get 5.1 on my firestick upto dd+ in hotstar... My tv does have Chromecast too but never needed to try it as its an android tv with apps... The tv app also supports 5.1 but it is an android tv
 

raghupb

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 11, 2015
Messages
2,905
Points
113
Location
Bengaluru
Oh well .... It's PL-II Cinema for now.
I just realized that I had forgotten to switch on the main poweramp for L/R while watching Shang Chi.
As it was late night, sub was also off.
So, we ended up watching it with only center channel on.
I knew something was not right, but realized it only today :rolleyes:

Cheers,
Raghu
 
You can now pre-book the Audiolab 6000A Integrated Amplifier at a special offer price.
Top