Do you know about the new legislation on free internet, SOPA

svenkateshsmart

Friends,

Just a few hours ago found that the wikipedia is down to express their protest against the Stop Online Piracy Act and Protect IP Act, SOPA and PIPA respectively.

Wikipedia-blackout-in-protest-of-SOPA-and-PIPA.png

More information on the impact of these legislations are available here:
SOPA, PIPA: What you need to know - Political Hotsheet - CBS News

Friends,

Megaupload.com has been banned on the grounds of copyright infringement, criminal copyright infringement by FBI and US Federal IPR agencies!!!!!

We have more to follow.........

Try http://www.megaupload.com/ and you can see the notice being posted here!

Bells are ringing!! So, let us also take extreme care with copyrighted contents and the like!

Last edited:
US legislators got more than an earful from people against the legislation. So much so that leaders have withdrawn the bill from voting in congress.

As a content producer I do feel that piracy is a problem. The solution is not to deny freedom of people that are not involved in the piracy.

Just as the world came together to deal with pirates on the high seas, there needs to be a consensus that digital pirates should have no safe heaven.

There is a cost to everyone for the file sharing that goes on the Internet now. That is the use of bandwidth for distributing pirated feature films. Everyone who pays for Internet access pays the bill for this.

I have no argument with a Grandma who buys a Blu-ray of Winnie the Pooh in Chennai and sends it digitally to grandkids in New Delhi (what was wrong with old Delhi that they needed a new one?), however, I would not want her to share it with everyone's grandkids.

The answer is not to deny people their right to use the Internet. The solution should lie with laws that allow police to do their job and stop the pirates.