• Hello and Welcome to HiFiVision.com - an online community for the home entertainment and tech enthusiasts!

    If you would like to ask a question, participate in a discussion and view attachments please Register yourself.

Does presence of optical (TOSLINK) input imply a DAC?

Audiolab 6000CDT Dedicated CD Transport

ubitoo

Member
Joined
May 15, 2018
Messages
75
Points
18
Location
India
(Feeling really stupid asking this but my understanding of underlying electronics and electricals is very limited.)

If an amplifier (or any other device for that matter) accepts an optical (TOSLINK) input and outputs
an analog signal, then it will always have some kind of digital-to-analogue module which is processing
the input from the optical and sending it out on the analogue.

In other words, when the intention is to output analogue, one cannot accept optical input without also
including a DAC in the processing pipeline.

Am I correct?
 

Naturelover

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 14, 2011
Messages
4,221
Points
113
Location
Nagpur
No question is stupid.
We all start at the bottom.
Learning and exchange of information and ideas is what these forums are all about.
Yes, a Toslink does mean a digital signal.
Are you speaking of a specific item?
Your last paragraph is not very clear.
 

hifitoaster

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2018
Messages
624
Points
63
Location
India
(Feeling really stupid asking this but my understanding of underlying electronics and electricals is very limited.)

If an amplifier (or any other device for that matter) accepts an optical (TOSLINK) input and outputs
an analog signal, then it will always have some kind of digital-to-analogue module which is processing
the input from the optical and sending it out on the analogue.

In other words, when the intention is to output analogue, one cannot accept optical input without also
including a DAC in the processing pipeline.

Am I correct?

Yes there is essentially a DAC inside if it accepts TOSLINK.
 

Ravindra Desai

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2018
Messages
327
Points
93
Location
Kolhapur, Maharashtra. India.
(Feeling really stupid asking this but my understanding of underlying electronics and electricals is very limited.)

If an amplifier (or any other device for that matter) accepts an optical (TOSLINK) input and outputs
an analog signal, then it will always have some kind of digital-to-analogue module which is processing
the input from the optical and sending it out on the analogue.

In other words, when the intention is to output analogue, one cannot accept optical input without also
including a DAC in the processing pipeline.

Am I correct?

The complete signal chain is like this:
SPDIF input (Optical or co-axial) connects to a SPDIF receiver IC which decodes the digital input into I2S format which is also digital. The I2S signal connects to a DAC.
In effect, you can call this entire block as D (SPDIF optical/ co axial) to A ( analog) converter.

So, yes, your understanding is correct.

Regards,

Ravindra.
 

ubitoo

Member
Joined
May 15, 2018
Messages
75
Points
18
Location
India
Thanks @Naturelover @hifitoaster and @Ravindra Desai the answers are really helpful.

About:
Are you speaking of a specific item?
Nothing specific, I am just reading up on various connectors.


Given the answers, I have a follow-up question:
So if a DAC/Audio Interface provides an optical out and this is used
to connect to an active monitor having optical input, in such a scenario,
the source DAC/Interface will completely be bypassed and the monitor
will, instead, decode using its internal DAC (which should always be
present as implied by the answers). Right?
 

hifitoaster

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2018
Messages
624
Points
63
Location
India
Thanks @Naturelover @hifitoaster and @Ravindra Desai the answers are really helpful.

About:

Nothing specific, I am just reading up on various connectors.


Given the answers, I have a follow-up question:
So if a DAC/Audio Interface provides an optical out and this is used
to connect to an active monitor having optical input, in such a scenario,
the source DAC/Interface will completely be bypassed and the monitor
will, instead, decode using its internal DAC (which should always be
present as implied by the answers). Right?
Yes, the internal dac of the monitor will be the one used in this scenario. the dac of device with Optical out will be bypassed.
 
Top