Help Needed - I'm an absolute newbie!

Amit Shetty

Hello,

I recently kicked off the daunting task of researching a hi fi system for myself, I have found it to be a challenging affair with so many options in the market. I could seriously do with some suggestions on what to buy for my requirements. You may also see from my post that my knowledge on AV components is limited - so please ignore my "ignorance" and help enlighten :)

Here goes - I currently own a Sony Hi Fi - XO-N255S (its so old I cant even find refernce on the internet) and a Bose Companion 3 Series II. The Sony is really old, i bought it Circa 1990, though the speakers in my opinion provide a full bodied sound. I am ready to offload both these systems to upgrade.

I listen to all kinds of music but gravitate towards Jazz, Blues and Rock. My music sources are usually my iPhone, iPod, CD's, MP3 CD's, FM Radio (thank god for 91.9 Radio Indigo Bangalore) and the internet radio.

After a little research I came up with this list in the sub 1 lakh range:
Marantz CD5004 CD Player |Marantz SR 5006 AV reveiver | BA A360 Tower Speakers |

Do these components pair well? Do you suggest something else?

I look forward to hearing your suggestions. Thanks much :)

Hi Amit,

Welcome to the forum.

A few suggestions
1. Look at an integrated stereo amp. instead of AVR, if its only for music.
2. You might want to look at SqueezeBox or some such option based on the sources that you like instead of the CD player
3. You should look at bookshelves and floorstanders at the 50k range and hear them out, rather than depending upon reviews and opinions.

Welcome to the nightmare Amit! ;)