• Hello and Welcome to HiFiVision.com - an online community for the home entertainment and tech enthusiasts!

    If you would like to ask a question, participate in a discussion and view attachments please Register yourself.

Marantz Owner Thread...

Audiolab 6000CDT Dedicated CD Transport

balzac

Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2016
Messages
103
Points
18
Location
India
Hi All,

I didn't find any exclusive thread for "Marantz" AVR owner. So, thought of starting one where we could discuss about the feature, functionalities, availability, pricing, etc. related to Marantz AVR's.

I hope we all share some useful information and help each other out here.

:) :) :)

Cheers!
 
SPONSORED ADS

SPONSORED ADS

efernand1

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 6, 2012
Messages
5,084
Points
113
Location
Mumbai
Hi,

Good initiative.

I remember a couple of years back there was a thread when I had the NR1402...not sure if it is still there...anyways... it's good we have this one now in place!
 

sree0320

Active Member
Joined
May 28, 2015
Messages
204
Points
28
Location
thanjavur
I had a bad experience with Marantz sr5008. It was fine for 3 months and started giving trouble. I sent to service center(MZ Audio) couple of times. They said that they replaced all the boards and send back but VB still the problem was there. Transportation was the problem they claim. I fed up with it and after around 6 months I have shown it to local Yamaha service man( Marantz service is not available). Finally he explained me how I was cheated by MZ Audio. They are no connector plugs. All boards are soldered together which is stopping him to sort out the issue.
Seriously this is a big addiction with Marantz sound as I couldn't be happier with other setups such as Yamaha, pioneer,onkyo,nad and even Denon.
I can't give up this AVR nor dare again to purchase one more

Sent from my Lenovo K50a40 using Tapatalk
 

Murlidher

Active Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2013
Messages
647
Points
43
Location
Bangalore
Didn't you approach the dealer from whom you bought if it's under warranty ?

Sent from my XT1562 using Tapatalk
 

balzac

Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2016
Messages
103
Points
18
Location
India
I had a bad experience with Marantz sr5008. It was fine for 3 months and started giving trouble. I sent to service center(MZ Audio) couple of times. They said that they replaced all the boards and send back but VB still the problem was there. Transportation was the problem they claim. I fed up with it and after around 6 months I have shown it to local Yamaha service man( Marantz service is not available). Finally he explained me how I was cheated by MZ Audio. They are no connector plugs. All boards are soldered together which is stopping him to sort out the issue.
Seriously this is a big addiction with Marantz sound as I couldn't be happier with other setups such as Yamaha, pioneer,onkyo,nad and even Denon.
I can't give up this AVR nor dare again to purchase one more

Sent from my Lenovo K50a40 using Tapatalk
Ohhh. You bought the Marantz AVR from MZ Audio? I too have bought it from them.

Also, one thing which was pretty strange was that they were continuously telling me that "I SHOULD NOT UPDATE THE FIRMWARE. IF YOU DO IT and WIFI CONNECTION IS INTERRUPTED THE FIRMWARE WOULD GET CORRUPT".

Is this something which has been experienced by others? Due to this I am avoiding the DTS:X update. :(
 

Amarendra

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 25, 2010
Messages
635
Points
63
Location
Mumbai
Why not upgrade the firmware with a lan connection and then switch back to wifi. There are some products that face issues when interrupted during update process.
 

Murlidher

Active Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2013
Messages
647
Points
43
Location
Bangalore
I never had any issues updating through WiFi. Warranty period should be utilised by making the dealer responsible for any issues during that time

Sent from my XT1562 using Tapatalk
 

Lad1

New Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2016
Messages
157
Points
0
Location
Mumbai
Strange.My exp with Mz Audio is very good.Very Straight forward people
 
SPONSORED ADS

Lad1

New Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2016
Messages
157
Points
0
Location
Mumbai
Ohhh. You bought the Marantz AVR from MZ Audio? I too have bought it from them.

Also, one thing which was pretty strange was that they were continuously telling me that "I SHOULD NOT UPDATE THE FIRMWARE. IF YOU DO IT and WIFI CONNECTION IS INTERRUPTED THE FIRMWARE WOULD GET CORRUPT".

Is this something which has been experienced by others? Due to this I am avoiding the DTS:X update. :(
I was said the same on purchase of 1506.I think its correct.Warranty cannot be claimed when you damage it.Even when u buy other products like fridge...u get T&C's for warranty.
 

balzac

Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2016
Messages
103
Points
18
Location
India
I was said the same on purchase of 1506.I think its correct.Warranty cannot be claimed when you damage it.Even when u buy other products like fridge...u get T&C's for warranty.
That is strange. How is this justifiable? I mean "Upgrade" is something offered by Marantz right? I am just applying the same.

how could this owners problem? Is there an alternate way of upgrading? I mean via a Pen-drive?
 

balzac

Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2016
Messages
103
Points
18
Location
India
My on ongoing problem with marantz aver is in below thread.

http://www.hifivision.com/amplifiers/64579-marantz-1504-pixelled-video-output.html

I am told that tatasky sends reverse power to avr and destroyed HD board ic.
@Ankurjbl: Is your issue resolved now? Did you get any sort of suggestions, how one can avoid any such incident? I there an official service center in Pune for Marantz?

@All other FM's: Should we use Stabilizer and Surge Protector? What precautions one should take?
 

efernand1

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 6, 2012
Messages
5,084
Points
113
Location
Mumbai
Hi

Firstly the SR5008 model globally had some bugs in certain units,,,,this is a known issue where you will find countless threads on google.....

MZ Audio are straight forward people and the rest of the HT dealers get the Marantz products from MZ Audio (Dealer rates) which then is purchased by consumers like us. I know AshrafBhai (Owner) quite well.

The SR5008 was built like a delicate darling where boards are placed to close to each other...(Don't forget, I too owned one briefly for a year...eventually sold it).

Set Top box should never be connected to the AVR as the cable line which comes to your house has a tendency to carry electric current and hence frying of the HDMI board and related circuitry.

Currently I have connected the HD Set top box directly to TV and audio out (Optical) from TV to AVR....safer this way.....no issues till date.

Most of the models of Marantz I used so far was purchased without warranty and I sold my older models without any issues. All the ones which I sold are working perfectly fine without any issue till date and the buyers are very happy.

I think its more about checking all factors like electric points, connectors, wires and ensuring that the AVR is treated / handled in the right manner....follow the book...nothing can go wrong.....

Hope this helps....
 

balzac

Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2016
Messages
103
Points
18
Location
India
@efernand1: On a lighter note. Could you share the book details?

My interaction with Ashraf Bhai and Sayeed was good too. It has been a week, lets see what happens ahead?

Thank You for the suggestion for the Set-top Box and TV connection? Please share more such ideas one should apply.

It would be highly appreciated. :)

Cheers!
 

efernand1

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 6, 2012
Messages
5,084
Points
113
Location
Mumbai
Hi

Book is the operational manual (lol)

Other checks is the normal checks of surge protector, electric points....I keep my system on a separate spike guard...another one is there for the TV and set top box......

Yes, ideas will flow in.....don't worry....we are all here to guide and help each other....
 

Lad1

New Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2016
Messages
157
Points
0
Location
Mumbai
That is strange. How is this justifiable? I mean "Upgrade" is something offered by Marantz right? I am just applying the same.

how could this owners problem? Is there an alternate way of upgrading? I mean via a Pen-drive?
The fault is the owners.How ?....Your net.
 

Lad1

New Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2016
Messages
157
Points
0
Location
Mumbai
the board will corrupt when your net stop while updating.
I put setup box HDMI in tv & take optical out
 
SPONSORED ADS

Top