Need some help regarding audio-system

shubhangam

Hi guys, need some help with some decisions.

I've been using the cheap Logitech Z-4s for the past 6 years and would like to upgrade.

While at home, I found a Sony HCD-VX555 system lying around un-used and gathering dust so I tried starting it up to check out it's condition.

The deal is that the main component is totally busted with the electronics and controls all messed up, but I managed to hook up my ipod with a 3.5 -> RCA interconnect to the line-in of the system and play it.

The sound seemed pretty decent with some good lows capability and decent highs (as referenced to my Phonak IEMs, it could go down to frequencies that my Z4s are absolutely not capable of, even with the sub).

Now the issue is that 1 of the wires going into 1 speaker has snapped at the entry to the speaker.

What I want is to know whether there is any point getting this fixed and upto what price point. Also I'm planning not to get the main component (receiver/amp thing) repaired since I have no real use of the CD player/tape etc. and just need it for the amp bit. (speakers are 140w per channel RMS).

My plan is to take along the entire thing with me to Hyd (starting work there) and then replace the amp with a proper amp and then to better speakers over time. Total budget will be 20~30k over 5~6 months.
The system will be used as 'computer speakers' a.k.a with my computer as source. I am ready to buy a dac/amp as well (over time).

So please recommend -
  • What price is it worth paying to fix the snapped wire? (aka what are the speakers really worth)
  • What kind of upgrade route can follow from the same?
  • Should I ditch the entire thing and just think about getting a new set-up over time (and take along my z4s)

I mostly listen to rock, alternative and also some classical and country now and then if it's relevant. Oh and usage will be 80% music, 20% tv-series/movies etc.

Thanks a lot.
Shubhangam

Last edited:
Hi,