Nvidia Shield Tv- Owners Thread!!

girishtd8262

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 24, 2020
Messages
517
Points
63
Location
Mysore
Odd, I never had to configure anything. All I do is open the Netflix/Emby App in my Shield Pro, and if the title is ATMOS enabled, AVR automatically detects it.
Yes avr automatically detects only if nvidia audio setting is set to 7.1 ch with alow pass through.
By default it's 2 ch stereo settings.
 

Immu

Active Member
Joined
Jun 7, 2016
Messages
295
Points
28
Location
Bangalore
for that kodi should work first :)
it has been tough for me to get kodi work in my system so far
edit: HTPC connected to the same network as shield
I was initially using VLC player, since i also had some issue with Kodi, now after the update Kodi works fine, just make sure you make necessary setting on kodi allow all passthrough for audio settings will work for you.
 

arunhc

Active Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2011
Messages
312
Points
43
Location
Bangalore
I was initially using VLC player, since i also had some issue with Kodi, now after the update Kodi works fine, just make sure you make necessary setting on kodi allow all passthrough for audio settings will work for you.
not able to map the folder which has content ( on my htpc on the same network as shield) stuck there
any solutions?
 

jaiwant_alex

Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2018
Messages
61
Points
18
Location
Chennai
not able to map the folder which has content ( on my htpc on the same network as shield) stuck there
any solutions?
Do you mean not able to map in Kodi ? Assuming that's what you mean, you may have to add the folder manually (ie specify the path on the network)
 

Immu

Active Member
Joined
Jun 7, 2016
Messages
295
Points
28
Location
Bangalore

Is this applicable for Nvidia Shield as well? did anyone try this ? let me know if your devices support Dolby Atmos for Disney Hotstar+
 

girishtd8262

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 24, 2020
Messages
517
Points
63
Location
Mysore

Is this applicable for Nvidia Shield as well? did anyone try this ? let me know if your devices support Dolby Atmos for Disney Hotstar+
Hotstar title display shows Atmos and 5.1 but plays only 5.1
 

OM_2K19

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 2, 2019
Messages
1,836
Points
113
Location
Bangalore
The second 9.1+ HotFix has deployed on 9/21/2022 as 33.2.0.149 with the following changes:

Fixes bug where region specific apps could not be end user disabled/enabled
Fix for "Select a home app" show up after 9.1 upgrade
Fixes bug where region specific apps would not be visible after disabling
Disables anonymous access to smb server by default and adds developer option to allow anonymous access
“Enable Dolby Vision” notification will be suppressed after dismissing
Resolves issue where SHIELD would be unresponsive to BT devices up to 60 seconds after startup
Adds developer option to force Low Latency Dolby Vision if available
Resolves FFWD RWD crashing Plex Playback

To enroll in the hotfix program.


Source:-
 

Sandipbarik

Member
Joined
Dec 25, 2018
Messages
40
Points
8
Location
Kolkata
I got the Shield 2019 via a friend, so I was looking to sell the old 2017 version that I have....can anybody suggest, what is the best place to sell it. Thanks
 

volksjger

Active Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2017
Messages
106
Points
43
Location
Hyderabad
To enroll in the hotfix program.


Source:-
I bought a shield just a few months ago and I am facing most of the issues listed here. Thanks for sharing this. I enrolled in this hotfix program, is there anything that I need to know before updating it ? I have went through the caveats. So do I need to have Hotstar+Disney app pre-installed ?

Let me know if anyone had any success with the below issues.

I am using Kodi Nexus V20 Alpha 2, since I liked the crisp and borderless subtitles. I am using this version. Previously Netflix add on and Hotstar+ addon used to work really well with Kodi V19.3. Now hotstar isn't working with Kodi V19.3/4 or V20, it says APi error or subscription error. It is from BotAllen Repo.

Next issue is with Zee5 which doesn't play in 4k both in shield or my Sony android TV, but 4k works just fine on Firestick. Is there any Zee5 modded app that I can sideload that this feature works on shield as well ?
 

hanch

Member
Joined
Aug 5, 2014
Messages
30
Points
8
Location
Bangalore
FYI, I had low volume issues with my Shield 2017 after recent update/reset, toggling "Reduce PCM volume to match Dolby reference" helped to bring the volume back to normal!
 
Get the Wharfedale EVO 4.2 3-Way Standmount Speakers at a Special Offer Price.
Top