Philips GA 242 turntable

bspatel

Hi,
I am a beginner and want to buy a pre-owned turntable. I am in Mumbai and getting an used Philips GA 242 turntable.
I have heard turntable with a Magnetic cartridge sound quality is better as compared to Ceramic cartridge. Philips GA242 is with a original ceramic cartridge.

Now my query is -
1- what about the sound quality of Philips GA 242 turntable with the original ceramic cartridge.
2- Can I replace the ceramic cartridge with a magnetic cartridge later. If so what will be the cost?

It will be great if somebody can help me with my queries.

Hi. The GA 242 came with the GP 390 low output ceramic cartridge which was compatible with phono magnetic inputs. Notwithstanding the fact that a lot of owners 'upgraded' to the EEI Classic 700 magnetic cart, the GP 390 was by itself a fine sounding cart. In fact Philips Service manufactured a 'Philips Multipurpose Preamplifier 821/3PA' which had three settings 'Mag-GP390-Flat', specifically for the above cart. I own this preamp and it still runs, albeit with repairs over the years.
Coming to your specific query. Yes, the GA 242 is a fine sounding tt, PROVISO to it being in good running condition with the stylus in perfect condition. It can easily be fitted with a mag cart. Audio Technica AT 91, 3600, AT VM 95C or E are available. Remember to get it fitted by a professional as the tonearm wire clips are very fragile ( should you decide to buy it after due diligence on its condition).

Hi. The GA 242 came with the GP 390 low output ceramic cartridge which was compatible with phono magnetic inputs. Notwithstanding the fact that a lot of owners 'upgraded' to the EEI Classic 700 magnetic cart, the GP 390 was by itself a fine sounding cart. In fact Philips Service manufactured a 'Philips Multipurpose Preamplifier 821/3PA' which had three settings 'Mag-GP390-Flat', specifically for the above cart. I own this preamp and it still runs, albeit with repairs over the years.