PowerAmp vs Stereo Integrated amp

Manish Sharma

Hi folks,
I am new to home audio and just built my hifi a year ago. I am listening to music in 7.1 channel harman kardon av receiver AVR660…I am driving the front bookshelfs polk audio s20 with Marantz PM6007 using the pre out from AVR…Recently I planned to put my ceiling speakers to an external amp and brought home a second hand nakamichi IA-3…I cud listen the difference in the sound…My sound stage improved to a great extent and movies sounded much more cinematic…But when I used the same amp for front speakers I cud feel that despite of some detail the amp sounded distorted …But was much better than the original sound of AVR…I then plugged the ceiling speakers with the Marantz PM6007…And I was blown away with the difference of day and night…My ceiling speakers sounded like the bookshelfs and then I decided to assign different amp to all my channels to get the purest quality of sound.. My question is -
1. Should I get power amp like emotiva a5 for my extra 5 channels of centre, surround and rear surrounds?
2. To buy Marantz PM8006 for fronts, PM6007 for ceiling , PM5004(second hand) for rear surrounds?

Its costing me equally 1 lakh approx on both…but in power amp I wil get amp for my centre channel as well but its ok I can buy a budget monoblock amp later.

What is the difference between Power amp and stereo integrated amp?

Hi folks,