Sony KLV-40EX500

cmpugay

Hi Friends

I'm new to this thread and just came across this forum while searching for some information on Sony Bravia KLV-40EX500.

I was searching Sony-Asia Website and found that there two different Models in EX500 Seriesl i.e. KLV and KDL. From the specs sheet, I could differentiate what are the difference and secondly KDL model is not at all available in India.

Also the firmware file format is different for KDL and KLV Models.

The major difference what I found was that KDL Model can play all formats of Videos from USB whereas KLV model can play only MPEG1 and MPEG2.

Can anyone help me in deciding and in case I go for KLV Model (available in India), then can I replace the firmware software with KDL model and if yes then how.

If firmware software replacement is not possible then how do I play DivX and other format of Movies from USB drive on KLV-40EX500 model.

AFAIK, it is NOT possible to change the firmware for TVs to be able to read unsupported file formats. Its sad that Sony is not doing something as silly as support common file formats - something most manufacturers support worldwide!

However, one way of doing this is by opting for a DVD player with USB, most of which have decoders for most video file formats. DVD players can also do upscaling to HD.

Hi Pannags

Just now I found that Firmware of KDL-40EX500 available on Sony USA website is having same format what KLV-EX500 model firmw3are is i.e. pkg

But still not sure whether KLV Model will detect the file or not.

Hi Pannags

Just now I found that Firmware of KDL-40EX500 available on Sony USA website is having same format what KLV-EX500 model firmw3are is i.e. pkg

But still not sure whether KLV Model will detect the file or not.

While many are capable of updating the TV / AVR firmware themselves, I would advise you NOT to update the firmware by yourself - it may void your warranty. Thoroughly check your product manual and see what are your warranty terms and conditions.