Use of Android based Media Players !!!

gsajal

Am in the process of finalising a Media Player, the obvious choice between a WD Live Plus / WD Live Hub or a Hi Media 600 B as suggested by many readers here. Of late i have read about the new android based media players.

As a noob, i am just curious and wanna know what is the functionality of Android in a Media Player.

And if someone could suggest which one is better of the two WD Live Hub or Hi Media 600B, i am terribly confused.

If you have used an android mobile phone, you would understand its impact.

You can convert your TV into the android display unit. Download apps from market, play games, network online and so on and so forth.

But most of the android based players still need better software and hardware implementation, upgrade support and so on.

Also none of the android media players yet support gyroscope remotes which is an essential for enjoying android based apps else it becomes very cumbersome to manage with mouse and keyboard.

I own a android based media player called Measy, though i have not used it in a while for lack of time.

I would advice, if your primary interest is movies and music, stick to media players which offer a wide codec support, DLNA and other network sharing support like samba etc.
Stay far away from android based media players.

You can always buy a tablet like apple ipad or any other android based tablets for the android media experience as most of these can be directly plugged into to your HDTV.
Another advantage of tablet based android device is its portability.

If you have used an android mobile phone, you would understand its impact.

You can convert your TV into the android display unit. Download apps from market, play games, network online and so on and so forth.

But most of the android based players still need better software and hardware implementation, upgrade support and so on.