Bose Companion 3: Repair and voltage conversion from 220V to 110V

powerslave

Active Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2018
Messages
111
Points
43
Location
Bangalore
Folks , I have an old Bose Companion 3 which I had brought back from the USA years ago, my family plugged it into supply without a step down transformer and it went dead. It was told to me there was no smoke or pop. So I opened it up based on some google search pages that claim one can convert this into 220 V as the board is common across the units for different regions.

I don't see any burn marks or spots on the board (Bose has made it hard for people to repair things) ; the terminals to which fuse is soldered clearly specifies ratings for 110V and 220V fuse variants. So it tells me that this is a common board for all regions. However I wanted to know if someone has done this before or can confirm if my understanding is correct ?


IMG_1732.jpg
 

ShantaramChari

Active Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2021
Messages
134
Points
28
Location
Mumbai
Folks , I have an old Bose Companion 3 which I had brought back from the USA years ago, my family plugged it into supply without a step down transformer and it went dead. It was told to me there was no smoke or pop. So I opened it up based on some google search pages that claim one can convert this into 220 V as the board is common across the units for different regions.

I don't see any burn marks or spots on the board (Bose has made it hard for people to repair things) ; the terminals to which fuse is soldered clearly specifies ratings for 110V and 220V fuse variants. So it tells me that this is a common board for all regions. However I wanted to know if someone has done this before or can confirm if my understanding is correct ?


View attachment 57014
Sir, I have repaired the same. While it was one my uncles speaker. You can go to your nearby transformer repairing shop and tell them to make primary winding of 220v and the secondary winding as per the original. By replacing this you can retrieve you bose companion back to work
 

powerslave

Active Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2018
Messages
111
Points
43
Location
Bangalore
So you changed the torroidal transformer inside ? In that case perhaps just replacing with same fuse and using a step down trafo might be a better idea.
 

manniraj

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2011
Messages
2,422
Points
113
Location
Chicago
I do not think fuse is the same, please check as I can see from the pic that the 220-240v primary needs a fuse of 1.6A whereas usually 100-120v primary needs double that that 3.1A. Get the similar rated secondary winding but do make sure when you remove the transformer check if on the AC side any part is burnt up using magnifying glass and good lighting.
 

log21

New Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2015
Messages
9
Points
3
Location
chennai
There would be a varistor . check if that has blown . It usually is a circular disc . Try to find a 500v -1000v one to replace .

Edit:
Just saw the pic again . it says VR1 . check that . searched on google part no . 275L40B
 
Last edited by a moderator:

drlowmu

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2020
Messages
527
Points
93
Location
Warrensburg, Missouri
What if you someone blew one or more devices in the amplifier, due to a momentary application of double the VAC / VDC ??

Rather than replace the Power XFR, at a certain cost, only to find other things ( after the power transformer, in the circuit ) are damaged beyond easy repair, why not this :

Replace blown fuse. Slowly start unit up on a VARIAC, carefully monitoring the amplifier with a DMM. See if all measures OK up to 120 VAC of line input from the Varaic.

Pay attention to Varistor, if necessary.

If unit measures normal on a 120 VAC variac line feed, ( no voltage offsets on the output / speaker connections) you should next, determine if it passes a signal.

Only then - consider the expense and need of a different Power Transformer for 220 VAC operation.
 
Last edited:

AKT

Active Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2013
Messages
180
Points
43
Location
Bangalore
Same problem with my wave music system. I was suggested exactly what Shantaram mentioned. I just got it repaired as 110v and use it with a step down. did not want to touch the transformer. Anil PV in Sarjapur fixed it for me.
 

nikhilblr

Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2016
Messages
60
Points
18
Location
Bangalore
Same problem with my wave music system. I was suggested exactly what Shantaram mentioned. I just got it repaired as 110v and use it with a step down. did not want to touch the transformer. Anil PV in Sarjapur fixed it for me.
Does Anil also fix audio equipment like cassette decks and if yes can you please share his contact details?
 

drlowmu

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2020
Messages
527
Points
93
Location
Warrensburg, Missouri
^ Thanks man, will try it out . I was trying to pull a DIY here
You may not even have to replace the Power Transformer. It may be designed and configured as a dual primary winding XFR, in which case, you would unparallel the two 115 VAC windings, and IN PHASE, connect the wires to produce 230 VAC in a series connection. Did you know, E.E. Amar Bose .................became a billionaire !!
 
Order your Rega Turntables & Amplifiers from HiFiMART.com - India's reputed online dealer.
Top