• Hello and Welcome to HiFiVision.com - an online community for the home entertainment and tech enthusiasts!

    If you would like to ask a question, participate in a discussion and view attachments please Register yourself.

Clarification required - Samsung HT-TZ315

Wharfedale Evo 4.2

dawg55555

New Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2008
Messages
17
Points
0
Location
Bangalore
Hi all,

I am interested in considering the Samsung HT-TZ315. Features and price seem very good value for money. This system sells for Rs.16500.

HT-TZ315 home theatre systems - home theatre SAMSUNG

However on the Samsung India site, it shows that the 315 does not have Dolby Digital, which I find really ludicrous. DD is almost default on all systems these days. I called Samsung india and they told me that it does not have DD.

However I would like to clarify from somebody who owns the 315. Could you confirm if it supports DD 5.1? Many thanks !
 

prakasse

New Member
Joined
Oct 16, 2008
Messages
562
Points
0
Location
bangalore
Hi all,

I am interested in considering the Samsung HT-TZ315. Features and price seem very good value for money. This system sells for Rs.16500.

HT-TZ315 home theatre systems - home theatre SAMSUNG

However on the Samsung India site, it shows that the 315 does not have Dolby Digital, which I find really ludicrous. DD is almost default on all systems these days. I called Samsung india and they told me that it does not have DD.

However I would like to clarify from somebody who owns the 315. Could you confirm if it supports DD 5.1? Many thanks !

Dolby Digital is not supported. majority of the movies in india are released in DD format only... hecne DD decoder is must..

why dont you have a look at Onkyo HTS 3100. for additional 2K you will get a more reliable HTiB

Thanks,
Prakash
 

reju

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2008
Messages
1,482
Points
83
Location
Mumbai
Have attached the relevant page from the user manual (same for 6 models)

2lwn6le.jpg


2el9sac.jpg


As you can see, DD (15) is clearly shown as available.

BTW, BT (8) is not available for 3 models and indicated accordingly.
 

hemantwaghe

Banned
Joined
Sep 23, 2007
Messages
4,139
Points
0
I've downloaded the manual and yes it mentions Dolby Digital.
But I find a lot of strange things ......:(:eek:
1) 1000 W Rms and main unit weighs only 3.5 KG!!!
2) ElectricalPower consumption is only 80 W

I CANNOT PUT IT IN WORDS BUT I THINK IT IS HAVIING BEST POWER/WEIGHT RATIO!!!

NOW
1) I am not able to locate THD figures
2) Speaker impendence is 3 ohms -- first I've seen
3) Subwoofer size not able to locate
4) Subwoofer is active or passive?? Not able to locate


Fellow audio lovers please can you add something??

My advise --- NOOO!!!
 

marsilians

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
2,642
Points
83
Location
117.192.87.109
I've downloaded the manual and yes it mentions Dolby Digital.
But I find a lot of strange things ......:(:eek:
1) 1000 W Rms and main unit weighs only 3.5 KG!!!
2) ElectricalPower consumption is only 80 W

I CANNOT PUT IT IN WORDS BUT I THINK IT IS HAVIING BEST POWER/WEIGHT RATIO!!!

NOW
1) I am not able to locate THD figures
2) Speaker impendence is 3 ohms -- first I've seen
3) Subwoofer size not able to locate
4) Subwoofer is active or passive?? Not able to locate


Fellow audio lovers please can you add something??

My advise --- NOOO!!!

1/ Usually THD is in the range of 8 - 12% for HTiB systems (.08 - .12)
2/ This surprises me quite a bit. Pls. double check as they seem very inefficient
3/ 6 inch
4/ Passive
 

idlebrain

Active Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2009
Messages
656
Points
43
Location
Hyderabad
Hi Guys,

I am Using the Sammy HT-TZ315 with Panny 42X10D Plasma. When I am playing the DVD movie using this player, on screen it is showing 576P. Is there any setting I made to get it upscale to 1080P? by the way Panny X10 is HD Ready Plasma.

Please advice me on this.
Thanks.
Satya.
 
Top