DIY - First Attempt

novice-akki

Greetings,

I've just upgraded to a set of component speakers for my car.

As a result, I'm left with a pair of 4 inch coax speakers [Boschmann] in really good condition, decided to bring them back rather than leave them with installer.

I've 01 piece of 19 mm - 4' X 4' commercial board lying at home.

Now, can somebody please suggest box dimension [ported/sealed] to use with desktop PC or as a center channel with my AVR.

It may be a waste of time and effort but would still like to go ahead with it as I've nothing to loose and it'll serve as a learning curve for future builds/projects.

PS: I tried to look up for some specs/details for the drivers on net but no luck, I can post some pictures of the drivers, if required.

Waiting for your replies.

Cheers

117 views, no replies :sad:

Hey novice-akki, First off I'm not a professional level speaker builder, but like yourself, I too have have been mulling using some beautiful co-axial speakers that I pulled out of my outgoing car to make boxed speakers for home use.

Two issues, to be highlighted before you go any further, and I have seen these mentioned so many times it not even funny:
(a) You will need some 'TS' parameters to determine the volume and porting of the ideal boxes for your 4" drivers. It is difficult to find these for car audio speakers as my efforts in finding the same have proved.
(b) Even with all necessary data available, the fact remains, car audio speakers are 4 ohms as against home speakers (in general) which are rated at 8 ohms (there are exceptions and variations), as are home AV receivers. This can be a problem if you are planning to drive your speakers at loud volume.

Now firstly, this here
DIY
is a good starting-point guide, and you can use many of the site's features to arrive at your desired answers.

(You will need some basic and intermediate level knowledge of speaker building/electricals to understand all the terms used.)