diy speakers v/s branded.

designation

hello all , a newbie here, tried searching for a thread with same heading , but couldn't find so starting one, would like to know whether a diy speaker can be made better than a branded speaker? please do help.

In the DIY category, there are 2 broad classes (1) replicas of branded products and (2) original designs. If you are trying to replicate a branded product with original drivers, cross overs and design specs, you can get very near to the original and if you are an expert DIYer, you can tweek accordingly to make your relica sound even better to your ears. Original designs require indepth knowledge, research and back-breaking experimentation. But if you're game for it, its always the most satisfying. Buying something branded allows you to just plug, play and listen. On another note, the marquee value of a DIY effort will be appreciated by a select few while the marquee value of your big-ticket branded speaker purchase will be far-reaching.

Last edited:
Original designs require indepth knowledge, research and back-breaking experimentation.

Very aptly said. Ill highlight "back-breaking experimentation" specialy when you have to to n fro the speakers from home to workshop for fine tuning/ final touch/ finishing etc.

other thing is it is difficult to get all components like port of the desired length and radius.

I would rater say completing work from the carpenter is the biggest pain...

Yes, the carpenters do not understand that these have to be perfectly made. These are speaker boxes not furniture. Dont know why but carpenters seem to have some kinda attitude which I dont like.