First system - Buy 5.1 AVR + Decent floorstanders + Keep ugrading over the next years

Stevie

Hi all,

I will really love expert help... :eek:
I don't mean to offend anyone. At the outset let me make it clear that I'm a noob, a newbie. I don't believe in specs, only how the system sounds (function over form all the way!). :D
I have always loved my 3 cd changer 2 channel Sony set with 6ohms Vx33 speakers(15 years old- still love booming bass {Do i hear audiophiles squirming in their couches})

I don't own a tv (will never watch cable, only movies becoz I can't stand ads), May buy a panny x30 or u30 later this year (will never buy into 3D, too gimmicky ;) )
I listen primarily to Progressive house or Trance 65% of the time (Armin Van buuren, Ministry of Sound, Tiesto, Above & beyond, Oceanlab, John O'callghan, Avicii) or classic rock 15% of time (Pink floyd, Led Zeppelin, Lynyrd SKynyrd, Pre-video era Metallica) or alternative rock 10%(Creed, Marilyn Manson, 12 stones, Hinder, Staind) or World/Classical music 10% (mostly Yanni, a lil Mozart, a lil Beethoven, a lil Bach)

I'm very budget constrained and a firm believer in the theory of Marginal returns. (creative EP-630 in-ear phones... lol bought 3 sets one after the other over the past 4ish years, listened to denon in-ears, want more bass)

IO have no qualms about buying pre-owned systems...
I'm primarily looking for a decent 5.1 AVR (preferably ones that drive 6 ohms speakers (love my sony's and will use as rear speakers; what more can i say) future planning :D) + good floor standers + good sub-woofer (unsure of active vs passive)+ (Maybe) a decent center....
Not sure if a pure amplifier is better than an AVR????:rolleyes:
Will add the surrounds next year or the year after (if my future wifey allows :D:p)

Budget 35K (yeah baby) to 75K(oh God no) (Will exceed if its worth it)
Will really love expert opinions... thanks in advance for all the help...

Regards,
Steve