How are Panasonic plasmas' performances?

Orbiter

Hi

I am a newbie for posting, but have been a passive listener for some time here. Very much interested in buying a plasma, and have been going through the postings.

One thing I have found out is, there are not many complaints about Panasonic TVs in this forum, ie. not as many as that of the other brands, mainly LG. Does that mean that Panasonics are better than the other brands, or, because Panasonics are costlier than the others, not many are buying them? Just a thought!

Your inputs may help in finalising my choice. If the Panasonics are without many faults, I don't mind paying their higher prices to get a TV to enjoy with a worry-free mind.

Thanks in advance

Orbiter

I can't talk about other brands. I have a Panasonic 50" Viera (P50S10D) for over a year now and I'm quite satisfied with the performance - looks very good and no problems so far. I'm not a technically knowledgeable guy and I don't have any of that fancy color calibration equipment so my opinion is from layman's point of view.

I believe that the Viera panels are made in Japan, which is supposed to be a higher quality. Not sure about this.

I have a Panny 50X10D which I got in Jan 2010, and am very satisfied with its performance. The screen looks slightly greyish while switched off. But while performing, the blacks are rich and deep and the colours are very life-like. Mainly the skin tone is very realistic.

I play downloaded DVD rips through my LG DV388 upscaling player, and after watching Avatar and 2012 in it, I have put off my idea of buying a BD player. The pictures are so sharp, I don't think a BD player is really necessary.

Except for the not so good speakers (which I think is a non issue, as all of us are using a HT system with big screen TVs) I don't find any problem with the TV. Though I paid 74500 for the TV at that time, I think it is worth the money. We really enjoy the TV.